We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wee neighborhood cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IKafe

IKafe
138 Nithsdale Road, Glasgow, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #871 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, International, Healthy
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great wee neighborhood cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

great wee neighborhood cafe, does lovely lunches, bruschetta & soups are fab, staff really nice & friendly too

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Went there tonight with 2 friends, staff unattentive and civil at best, I ordered pasta which arrived cold when I said it was cold the waitress took it away put it in the microwave then brought it back 3 minutes later. It now had a hot conjealed cream and all you could taste were vastly overspiced italian sausage. Was not even asked when the waitress took away the plate as near to full as when it arrived, if it was okay. In short was charged full price for a ghastly plate of pasta microwaved. DIRE

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Went in today. It was very busy and the staff were flustered. We sat at a table for 2 for approx 10-15 mins without any acknowledgement from any staff member. They seemed to think that clearing empty tables was more important than taking new customer orders. So we got up and left without placing an order- disappointing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Standard Dropping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have been going to iKafe since it opened and have always loved the food and the service which they provide whether it be at lunch time or in the evening. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is always warm and inviting with a huge array of cakes on offer set out at the counter.

On my last visit I was very disappointed with the food which was served - first of all on the menu it stated pate but when it turned up it was a solid block of pork - not sure exactly how to describe it but as far as I was concerned it wasn't pate and could not be spread onto the toast that was provided for it. The second course I ordered the tagine - when it arrived it was like shredded meat with some cream mixed through - did not look very inspiring and did not taste anything like it had done previously.

I had gone to the restaurant with friends and they also agreed that the food was not very good and we were all left very disappointed. I won't be planning on going back there for a long time as this experience has definitely put me off as the prices are not exactly cheap. Of course if the food is good I don't mind paying more but to have 2 courses that were bad well - the only good thing was the wine and the company!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Excellent food and service..and customer care in abundance

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IKafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to IKafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IKafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.