We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallop ye not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Butchershop Bar and Grill

The Butchershop Bar and Grill
1055 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7UD, Scotland (West End)
01413392999
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Butchershop Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West End
Transit: We are located close to the Kelvingrove subway stop and on one of the main bus routes between the City Centre and Glasgow's West End
Description: One of the most talked about steakhouses in Scotland, The Butchershop Bar & Grill prides itself on serving the finest Scottish grass fed beef; locally-sourced and dry aged hung from between 21-35 days.Inspired by owner James Rusks’ time in America, The Butchershop is a stylish, modern haven for foodies with an ethos focused on delivering outstanding service, exceptional food and vibrant atmosphere.Award winning chefs create mouth-watering daily specials by using the best produce Scotland has to offer including freshly caught seafood and traditional grill classics. The complementing Butchershop bar is home to expertly-mixed signature cocktails, liqueurs, whiskies and an impressive array of wines.Located in the vibrant West End of the city, this steakhouse and cocktail bar offers stunning views of Glasgow University and The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, and is truly a must visit for anyone stepping foot in Glasgow.
Glasgow Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Scallop ye not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I ate out 4 times in Glasgow last week and on 3 occasions ordered Scallops as my starter.
I'm sorry to say that the two most expensive offered the least - in the case of the Butchershop 3 scallops of small to medium size at a cost of £11 ( pretty poor show IMHO ) The best was the Wee Lochan with 5 for £8. Anyway the main course of steak was very good although the pepper sauce jus was perhaps not exactly to my own personal preference.
Service was excellent with a very nice chap, born in Greece but a bit of a world traveller , keeping us well looked after. Total Bill for two with wine came to £111. Not cheap but the food quality was high.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    245
    81
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing given what we had been told”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Came here with friends after several recommendations and good reviews. Not surprisingly given its name, the restaurant specialises in steaks. So we were very disappointed when one steak ordered rare arrived medium rare and had to be replaced immediately and another that arrived rare was most definitely medium rare. Menu very limited if anyone in the party didn't want steak. We found the steaks at the restaurant in the Blythswood Hotel much better and no more expensive. The Butchershop was expensive for what it is. Service was average, not sue we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening (17:45) in April, table for three.

Near to the Kelvingrove museum it's easy to find but parking is at a premium.

This is a bar restaurant, with lovely decor and ambiance. The Maitre'd and servers were very polite and knowledgeable, although there is a slight hint of superiority about them.

Drinks: Red wine Garnacha £18:95, very nice. A pint of Tiger beer £4.95 and a Bulmers £4.50. Maple old fashioned £7.95.

Starters:

Goats cheese with salad, Short Rib Cake and Sautéed squid with chorizo. Each dish was delicious and presented very nicely, the Short Rib Cake, in particular was a stand out All are smallish starters but you'll be glad of that when the mains arrive. All were priced between £5.95 and £6.95.

Mains:

Three steak dishes with additional 'Tops'.
1. Half a kilo of T-Bone steak (medium) with mash and a brandy sauce £29.95, with a 'Top' of Bone Marrow £2.95.
Cooked to perfection. Tender and extremely tasty, as was the mash the jus and the bone marrow.
2. Half a kilo of Cote De Boeuf (medium rare) with mash and garlic butter £29.95, and garlic king prawn 'Tops' £3.95. Also perfectly presented and delicious.
3. 250g Fillet steak (medium) with garlic butter and a side of salad £26.95, and garlic king prawns £3.95. Beautiful.

No desserts for us.

This is one of the best all round dining experiences I've had for a while. It is quite pricey but the quality of the food, the service and the ambience probably justify the prices.

Will definately return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, shame about the ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I decided to book here after reading rave reviews in the Daily Mail. I was not disappointed. The quality of the service was exemplary, with the waiter topping up our drinks without being asked and him apologising for being in our way when serving another table, even though he wasn't.

My only complaint was regarding the starter; the scallops were very small for the money they were charging. I would have been shocked to see the portion size of the scallop main.

My only regret is that I didn't order the T-bone....maybe the next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The food was very good, a little bit on the pricey side, but worth it. Our waiter was a sweetheart who not only was on top of our various difficult orders, but also provided great conversation. If visiting Glasgow and stop by the museum its a must go to stop!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchershop Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Butchershop Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butchershop Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.