We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celino’s

Celino’s
620 Alexandra Parade | Dennistoun, Glasgow G31 3BT, Scotland
0141 554 0523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Winners of Scotland's best Cafe/Bistro Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and Best Italian Bistro 2013! A beautiful authentic Italian eatery, familay run with quality food and value for money always!
1 review
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fab food
Excellent business lunch at a reasonable cost.
I am now a regular and my friends are now customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    73
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The East Ends hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our favourite..Amazing food full of flavour and far surpasses your expectations based on the prices. We took our friends for a birthday lunch today their first visit and both loved it so much they both went to the deli to take home a selection for their other halves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was my first visit to Celino's and was not disappointed. We went for the a la carte menu but a pre theatre menu was available too. My friends and I ordered pasta was but absolutely delicious, the pasta was cooked to perfection...al dente. A lot of restaurants tends to over cook pasta which I hate. The portions were a little on the small side, luckily we had ordered some foccacia to go with it. The staff were very attentive and extremely friendly.

There is also a deli selling a wide range of cold meats, olives, sausages, pasta, salads and much more.

It is more expensive than your average Italian restaurants but it is worth the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

After several visits, I have noted a steady demise. Food portions getting smaller and ease up with the salt chef. It is very busy now, so maybe they are not trying hard to please customers. I will go else where now

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best value pre theatre in Glasgow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Phoned last minute for a table on a Saturday night and the staff were very accommodating giving us a table at our preferred time. On arrival it was instantly obvious that the restaurant was very busy but we were quickly seated And the very attentive through-out our meal without us feeling that we were being rushed at any point. We were seated just after 6.30 but were still presented with the pre theatre menu without asking, when the cut off for this is 6.30. We decided on the pre theatre menu and it did not disappoint both meals, pâté and antipasto for starter and lasagne and a creamy chicken and black pudding dish, were excellent and of a decent size. We could not Fault the whole experience and enjoyed a relaxed start to the evening. We will definitely be back and look forward to taking advantage of the restaurant's take away and deli counter as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celino’s also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Celino’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celino’s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.