We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT DISCOVERY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe

Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe
620 Alexandra Parade | Dennistoun, Glasgow, Scotland
+44 141 554 0523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $14 - $47
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Winners of Scotland's best Cafe/Bistro Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and Best Italian Bistro 2013! A beautiful authentic Italian eatery, familay run with quality food and value for money always!
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT DISCOVERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First time to Celinos & we were impressed. From the friendly welcome, to the excellent service, to the superb food, this place deserves all the good reviews its been getting,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    64
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“maginfico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I were going to the theatre on Saturday night and were encouraged to eat at this neat little restaurant by my daughter, who is a regular visitor. The place was very busy and seats were quite crammed together but this was outdone by the food and attention from the waiters. As we had booked we didn't have to wait for a table. We were pleasantly greeted at the door and immediately led to our waiting table. We had a pre-theatre set menu and both had lasagne which was very authentic followed by the best ice-cream we have ever tasted. all this for £10.95 and a complimentary glass of wine. What more can you ask for. Can't wait for my next visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Burns Country, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Busy wee place, small and perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Had late breakfast, early lunch with friends! Breakfast menu had plenty to choose from. Great service from friendly staff. Make sure you leave time to purchase some goodies from the amazing deli counter, olives and arancini balls highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely little Celinos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in Dennistoun for a while, I have been coming to Celinos for a number of years and it just gets better and better.
Today I had the 2 course business lunch for £9.95. I had pâté (yum) to start then seabass with a leek risotto. The seabass & risotto is so highly recommended-it was delicious!
It is getting busier and busier in here and no wonder when it's so good.
The staff are all lovely too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I came across this restaurant by accident, looking out of the car window while waiting in a traffic queue, and checked reviews on TripAdvisor. I agree with all the positives everyone else has found. Hope it doesn't get too popular or we won't get a table! Great food, friendly service and deli ambience which reminds you of Italy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.