We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Celinos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe

Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe
620 Alexandra Parade | Dennistoun, Glasgow, Scotland
+44 141 554 0523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $15 - $51
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Winners of Scotland's best Cafe/Bistro Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and Best Italian Bistro 2013! A beautiful authentic Italian eatery, familay run with quality food and value for money always!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely little Celinos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in Dennistoun for a while, I have been coming to Celinos for a number of years and it just gets better and better.
Today I had the 2 course business lunch for £9.95. I had pâté (yum) to start then seabass with a leek risotto. The seabass & risotto is so highly recommended-it was delicious!
It is getting busier and busier in here and no wonder when it's so good.
The staff are all lovely too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    198
    48
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I came across this restaurant by accident, looking out of the car window while waiting in a traffic queue, and checked reviews on TripAdvisor. I agree with all the positives everyone else has found. Hope it doesn't get too popular or we won't get a table! Great food, friendly service and deli ambience which reminds you of Italy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Glasgow Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is one of Glasgow's hidden gems. 5 minutes from the centre by car, you could blink and miss it. But inside it's an Italian treasure trove. A fantastic deli sits next to a small restaurant area which serves some of the best pizza I've had. Really child-friendly too. It's not where I'd go for a fancy meal out, but for great Italian food in a relaxed atmosphere, you'd struggle to find better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“an excellent wee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a fab lunch in this wee gem, this afternoon. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was fresh, tasty and well presented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Chanced upon this restaurant - what a find! 2 course lunch for £10 sometimes means cheap and cheerful but not here. The food was amazing! I had the seafood salad and spinach and ricotta ravioli both of which were amazing. My partner had BBQ ribs and lasagne which were equally delicious. Can't praise this restaurant highly enough. Great food, very friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Would like to come back and sample the evening atmosphere. Fantastic!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.