We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe

Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe
620 Alexandra Parade | Dennistoun, Glasgow, Scotland
+44 141 554 0523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $14 - $47
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Winners of Scotland's best Cafe/Bistro Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and Best Italian Bistro 2013! A beautiful authentic Italian eatery, familay run with quality food and value for money always!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Cosy, friendly and welcoming. Great with kids.
Fast and efficient service and have always had great meals.
A lovely wee Italian with a great delicatessen too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    64
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic, lovely ... try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My mother and I went out of our way to try this place on the recommendation of a friend. We almost stayed in town for lunch but felt particularly intrigued so jumped in our car and took the short drive over to the East End - I'm glad we did.

From the minute you walk in the authenticity is tangible from the lovely old photos on the wall to the deli at the front, the whole place screams ITALY! The place was mobbed on a Wednesday at 1p.m. but the friendly manager beckoned us towards a table when he saw us hesitantly standing at the entrance. The service was friendly and prompt throughout and it was lovely to see staff seemingly enjoying their job and interacting with their customers; it is just such a lovely homely and relaxed ambience.

The tables are fairly close together, there's no cotton table linen or expensive cutlery or glass ware, but the menu is typically Italian, as you would expect, and served piping hot. The minestrone is thick with vegetables and flavour, the pesto pasta creamy and delicious. My mum had a dish of Chicken with a sauce and rice ( I can't remember what it was, I was too engrossed in my own meal) and she finished every last bit which is rare so I was surprised and for me, this is recommendation enough.

There was a father and his young daughter at a table next to us - the little girl had been given crayons and some paper to keep her entertained and it was lovely to see the waiters taking a genuine interest in her.

Everything is reasonably price with a set menu or a la carte option available. I loved it. It's not up market, fine dining or stuffy but it has charm, great food and friendly staff. I wish the management well, they've a little gem there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pasta never tasted this good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We visit Celino's when we visit Glasgow. We love the food. So tasty and flavoursome. The service is always excellent; friendly and helpful. The deli always gets a visit from us on our way out. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Situated on Alexandra Parade, this restaurant looked very inviting from the outside and we were not disappointed when we went in but unfortunately both our main courses were cold and that set the tone for the evening. Perhaps they just had an 'off-night'.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Me & my family love it here. We go at least once a month & the food is always very fresh & delicious. On my last visit I had prawns in a garlic & chilli sauce & seafood risotto & both were excellent. The staff are so friendly & cannot do enough for you. Very kid friendly too, my little boy who is 8 is always asking when we can go back there to eat. Will continue to go to Celinos as delicious food, amazing staff & great value for money make this place the best in Glasgow for Italian food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celino’s Italian Delicatessen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.