We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IKEA/JAPAN THEME HOTEL IN GLASGOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Glasgow to your Saves list
citizenM Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“IKEA/JAPAN THEME HOTEL IN GLASGOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The hotel staff were very welcoming and check in was easy. The lobby area was bright, open and colourful, it has a nice bar and a limited selection of food; this merges into a lounge area which is straight out of the Ikea catalogue with large sofas, chairs and a t.v. Next to this is the “study” which had 4 apple mac’s with internet access at no extra charge. The room itself was quite small but very well thought out and effectively maximises the use of space. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable, fluffy towels and a fantastic shower- oh and the shower gel is great (pm was my preference). The gadgets were a bit of a novelty and were certainly fun to use, I have never matched the colour of my bathroom to my outfit before! I was a bit nervous at the thought of the toilet being located behind frosted glass but it was actually quite amusing! The one minor complaint is regarding the bar, I ordered ½ pt draught lager- I was informed that they don’t do things by half measures and that I could order a pint ( not very ladylike) or a bottle, so needless to say I did neither.
I personally would find the electronics a bit frustrating for more than one night, it’s a fun quirky hotel in a great location and for the price I would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    845
    186
    60
    41
See reviews for
157
1,673
246
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed for one night and loved it so much am planning a trip to Amsterdam to see the city and to stay at the one there!
The rooms are small and perfectly formed and a great bargain for £49. I felt all cosy and warmly tucked up in the huge comfortable bed as I settled into watching a movie.
As you are in the town centre simply bring in a big coffee with you - for all those complaining about no coffee or tea facilities. Or get one from the canteen down stairs.
The technology is great fun and worked perfectly and most importantly for me the rooms are really really well sound proofed meaning minimal noise from the busy city centre and also minimal noise internally - no annoying corridor noise and doors banging. (An essential quality that is overlooked sadly by many hotels I have visited previously)
All in all highly recommended with helpful and efficient staff and clean funky rooms.
Marvellous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLE OF ISLAY, SCOTLAND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the last 2 weeks and it is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in in my life. The hotel is only a couple of hundred yards from Buchannan bus station and is also situated right accross from the Pavillion theatre and cinema. If you are driving there is no car park at the hotel but Cambridge Street secure car park is just 100 yards round the corner and costs only £3.50 per night!
Unfortunately there are no family rooms but that is the only downside to this gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I booked this hotel on Booking.com as it looked really cool,modern and funky. I thought it would be a different kind of experience staying somewhere where you have a 'Mood Pad' to control your Flat-Screen TV and Window Blinds and Colours surrounding your shower e.t.c. However once in the room all of these options just make your stay complicated and pointless...the Mood Pad never worked properly,it took around 10seconds to change each channel on the TV and then about 95% of the time that i was in the room the Mood Pad didnt even work it kept on saying 'Please Wait' or 'Starting Up' so i could not use the T.V,Open or Close the Blinds, Change the temperature of the room etc it was really annoying!!
The room was tiny,there was myself,my wife and then a friend came in to see us and it was like a shoe box,i felt like i was squeezed into the most smallest space that ive ever been into,it wasnt nice!!! There was no Kettle and Coffee/Tea/Buscuits etc no facilitites to make a hot drink at all...wot the hell..ive never been to a hotel in my life where you dont get this in your room..how tight can u get!!!! They only give you 1 large towel and 1 medium sized towel..even though there are two people staying in the room!!! The Sink is not in the bathroom,its in the hallway of your room and is tiny,when you wash your face water goes everywhere all over the room..it was comical the whole experience...they have tried to make this place look futuristic and cool but its not good at all it makes you realise how much better a normal hotel is where you have a basic remote to control a tv and you have Coffee/Tea facilities available!!!! The Hotel does not have Parking either to top it all off!! I really would not bother booking here..it was very dissappointing..get a normal better hotel...theres plenty available in Glasgow!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Hi “willsftm”,

I appreciate your review and I am very sorry for your experience.

citizenM was built in a new way for a new kind of traveler, who we call mobile citizens. Instead of anticipating guests’ needs in the future, we stepped ahead and implemented it for an affordable price.

We want citizenM to feel like your own home where your room is a place to watch TV or movies, there are plenty of free movies on demand, sleep comfortably and have a fantastic shower. The room was smartly built in 14sq meters with the latest technology and only the best materials were used. In addition there is the Moodpad, a single device that controls mood lighting, blinds, TV and temperature. As you don’t receive visits and don’t have a kettle in your bedroom at home either, at citizenM you can go to the kitchen, the canteenM 24/7, and enjoy it in our Vitra filled living rooms, accommodating visits as well.

citizenM Glasgow was opened last month and we are still working on improving Moodpad connectivity with the room, I do apologize for the issues you had. Ambassadors are always available and willing to assist with a big smile with anything concerning your stay, they can be reached downstairs or by telephone in your room. There are traditional remote controls available and blinds and lights can be controlled by a switch in the wall.

We feel disappointed you haven’t experienced citizenM in a ways we would like you to. If you would like to share anything else regarding your stay, feel free to contact me directly, I’ll be glad to keep in touch.

All the best,
citizenDiego
@citizenM.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great Hotel............Superb Rooms, Friendly Staff, Excellent Location......................it has it all!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This Hotel is fantastic. Very modern, lobby and check in areas are really trendy. The rooms are brilliant, bed is huge and so comfortable, everything is controlled by the mood pad, lighting, blinds, room temperature. Plenty of movies to chose from and all free of charge. The hotel must have very good sound-proofing as in the rooms you dont hear a thing from other rooms or outside.

The location is perfect, a stones throw away from all the restaurants, cinemas, theatres and nightlife.

I couldn't recommend this Hotel highly enough and its such good value for money too. Would hope to visit this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Funky, clean, convinient and really reasonably priced.
For one person or couple the rooms are perfect. For friends sharing not really recomended.
Really enjoyed staying at Citizen M.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Glasgow, Scotland’s city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow hotel offers affordable luxury by providing modern accommodations, free wi-fi, free movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.