We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hidden Lane Tearoom

The Hidden Lane Tearoom
1103 Argyl Street | Unit 8, The Hidden Lane, Glasgow g3 8nd, Scotland (Anderston)
0141 237 4391
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Celebrating all things vintage, The Hidden Lane Tearoom harks back to a bygone era where drinking from the finest china and enjoying High Tea was simply a way of life. Open from 9 - 6, the tearoom is a place to come and enjoy breakfast, bruch, lunch, high tea and early dinner with a range of dishes, loose leaf teas, coffee and delicious home baking to suit all. With its hidden away location surrounded by colourful ofices, studios and workshops the Tearoom really is one of Glasgow's best kept secrets.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited Friday 25th October having found it on Trip Advisor.
Great concept - well worth the hunt, despite having researched the location!
Eclectic mix of furniture and crockery, quirkily put together.
Great loose leaf tea made for wonderful flavour, generous cappucino and tremendous white chocolate millionaire shortbread.
Very relaxed, studenty music playing in background - well worth the walk from centre of Glasgow and not far from Kelvingrove park and museum.
Try it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    39
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a fab afternoon at The Hidden Tearooms today. I took my granny for an afternoon tea and couldn't recommend it enough.

First of all the decor is so cute with a real mix up of vintage items. Even the sugar is in a funky wee box and the water is served in jam jars. All very cool!! Also lovely bright space and nice to look out into the quiet lane rather than a busy road.

We opted for the luxury afternoon tea which was £15 per head. With this we got 3 mini rolls each with tuna mayo, Brie and rocket and goats cheese and cranberry, a scone with cream and fruit, 5 mini cakes and unlimited teas and coffee. Really glad we chose this option as the coffee was lovely!! The sandwiches were beautiful as was every single cake, the only complaint being that we were full so the girl kindly boxed up the leftover cakes for us to take home.

If you are looking for a nice afternoon with family or friends I would highly recommend it and if you are looking for an afternoon tea I would definitely recommend this over the large hotels!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time in Glasgow, so did a little research on where to go. This little café did not disappoint. Service was attentive and friendly and the food was beautifully presented and excellent value. We shared a goats cheese, beetroot and carrot ciabatta with a small deli board. soooo good, and delicious coffee too. Would go back again and again if we lived in Glasgow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First High Tea Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Amazing! Went with a few friends and we ordered the Luxury Afternoon Tea for four people. There was more than enough sandwiches and treats - we were all SO full by the end! There is also unlimited coffee/tea with this option which was incredible. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint little tea room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hidden out of the way this tea room is a must. Catered for a large hen party the service was excellent. We got a wonderful assortment of sandwiches and a great selection of cakes. There was more than enough for everyone and plenty of tea and coffee to go round. What was no date we took away with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Lane Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to The Hidden Lane Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hidden Lane Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.