We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First High Tea Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hidden Lane Tearoom

The Hidden Lane Tearoom
1103 Argyl Street | Unit 8, The Hidden Lane, Glasgow g3 8nd, Scotland (Anderston)
0141 237 4391
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Celebrating all things vintage, The Hidden Lane Tearoom harks back to a bygone era where drinking from the finest china and enjoying High Tea was simply a way of life. Open from 9 - 6, the tearoom is a place to come and enjoy breakfast, bruch, lunch, high tea and early dinner with a range of dishes, loose leaf teas, coffee and delicious home baking to suit all. With its hidden away location surrounded by colourful ofices, studios and workshops the Tearoom really is one of Glasgow's best kept secrets.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First High Tea Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Amazing! Went with a few friends and we ordered the Luxury Afternoon Tea for four people. There was more than enough sandwiches and treats - we were all SO full by the end! There is also unlimited coffee/tea with this option which was incredible. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    39
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint little tea room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hidden out of the way this tea room is a must. Catered for a large hen party the service was excellent. We got a wonderful assortment of sandwiches and a great selection of cakes. There was more than enough for everyone and plenty of tea and coffee to go round. What was no date we took away with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon with a group of friends.

6 took up the option of the luxury afternoon tea while I chose to have a sandwich and cold drink.

The selection for afternoon tea looked wonderful and there was certainly enough there to keep them all going. They had the option of unlimited tea and coffee but as there was plenty of sparkling wine at the table noone had more than their initial pot.

I ordered a ciabatta with goats cheese, carrot and beetroot. It came with salad and crisps and was really tasty, although I expected it to be hot as the bread was toasted but the contents were cold. Not a major issue but would have been even better had the whole thing been warmed.

Had more of an issue with my drink order as when it came there was no ice in the glass and when I asked for some I was told my drink was already cold. Not the point, as if I'm asking I obviously want some!

We were sat upstairs and it was incredibly hot. Some windows were opened after a while but it wasn't a great day weather wise so I'd have hated to have been in there on a warm day as it would have been unbearable.

Also worth noting that they don't take cards. There's a cashpoint not far away on Argyle St but would be a pain if you've walked down the lane to then have to go back again.

Lovely place and I'd visit again, just minor issues.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once you find it you will not be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although out of the way, this is a lovely wee tea room.. Spent a lovely couple of hours here with my daughter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I got a deal for the Hidden Lane Tearoom from 5pm.com and went with a friend for a catch-up. The tearoom is wonderful, small and decorated with a vintage shabby-chic decor. Staff were all friendly and service was exceptional. Had a wonderful afternoon tea, we took the option that head unlimited tea/coffee and couldnt finish all the cakes and sandwiches. Well worth a visit and would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Lane Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to The Hidden Lane Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hidden Lane Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.