We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A star in the west end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crabby Macs

Crabby Macs
61 Otago Street | Westend, Glasgow G12 8PQ, Scotland (West End)
01413372282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $15 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Crabby Macs Seafood CaféTucked away in the heart of Glasgow’s bustling West End Tattie Macs has evolved and is now Crabby Macs which still offers a wide selection of terrific prime Scottish steaks, gressingham duck and game but now also specialises in Great Scottish Seafood including soft white crab pot, Crab cakes, King scallops, Oak Smoked salmon, King Prawns, Oysters, Grilled Seafood Platter, Langoustines,Mussels, Fresh Scottish Lobster.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A star in the west end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic good. Excellent choice of dishes. With change from crabbys now a wide selection of tasty and filling dishes. Friendly helpful staff. What more could you want for a night out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    51
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, delicious dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Gave us two free glasses of wine when our first choice wasn't available. Food was mouth-watering and the two members of staff who served us were really fun and friendly. We were also surprised at how cheap our bill was, the food is very well priced. Will definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crabby Macs no longer exists, it is now Tattie's Bistro. A great loss to West End.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very disappointed to find Crabby Macs has gone. The food in Tatties is similar to the Italian Bistro. Good quality but Crabby's was unique to the West End. The seafood was varied and the seafood platter was wonderful. What you have now is an average restaurant. Won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Crabby Macs is the perfect neighbourhood restaurant. We spent a few days in Glasgow being dazzled by the quality of the independent cafes, but this was our evening meal out, and it was a highlight of the trip. The restaurant is simple but charming, and the food was delicious. The service was a little slow (it was a busy evening) but entirely worth the wait. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Glad we made it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went last Friday en route to Glasgow airport. Our son has a flat for Uni in the vicinity and had mentioned that the restaurant was always busy. We were given a warm welcome and seated very promptly with the staff letting us know of specials etc. We had a really professionally executed meal and the service was attentive. Unfortunately at the end whilst talking with the manager she informed us that the new chef had an allergy to seafood, therefore the restaurant was reverting to a more meat based menu offering...my wife had the Pork Belly and said it was fantastic.The chef and his team can cook extremely well and I wish them every success going forward...they may already have made the change?
Such a shame though as we do suffer from a lack of decent fish restaurants in the area...Two Fat Ladies the exception of course!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Macs also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Crabby Macs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabby Macs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.