We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tinto Tapas Bar

Tinto Tapas Bar
138 Battlefield Road, Glasgow G42 9JT, Scotland
141 636 6838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #584 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've always heard this tapas place at the row of shops on Battlefield Road is very good, and had walked past it numerous times and did not try it because I personally just don't like tapas eating style in general. However, got a birthday gift for the place and therefore went for a spot of lunch during the weekend. For being not a traditional tapas guy, the dishes were literally very tasty - the flavours were very rich or striking, and the good things I've heard about this place really is justified.

Decor (3/5)
Walking in the red front doors, which my gf literally missed, the restaurant was actually a lot deeper than it is wide. The decorations looks rustic (can't say authentic because I don't know enough about Spanish culture), and is a quaint little place. The gents toilets had its lights out, and therefore unavailable that day, and some things do look a bit old. Note that I suggest to make this a winter visit, because from the times I've walked past and been in there, it will get very hot.

Food (5/5)
The food was superb. We had 8 tapas between the two of us, and was sufficiently full. The menu has a good range: we had mussels, a fish/chorizo/black pudding dish, a spicy beef strips, some potato gratin type thing. For all the dishes however, they were all very flavourful, with unique stimulation to the taste buds. Apart from some of the dishes being a bit oily (depends if you want to choose the more healthy sounding ones this may be N/A), there are no faults for the food.

Service (5/5)
The service was very good all the way through. The waiter was welcoming and very polite. We used the groupon voucher, which means booking through the phone, but everything was great. Again, service is very good.

Price (3/5)
I'm not sure how much the groupon voucher was because it was a deal, but it gave us 8 tapas dishes and a choice of a sangria / soft drink. Each dish is a different price, but around £4 mark. The paellas are more expensive, but looks pretty big. All in all, I consider it normal price for eating out.

Summary
The great taste of the food and the exception service pulls up the fact the restaurant could do with moving to a bigger/newer premises. Saying that, even for a guy who doesn't like tapas style, I have no qualms going back - when it isn't hot out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    56
    18
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Recommended dining In Glasgow's South Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have been to Tinto a couple of times - really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend. The menu was varied, the food was delicious, the service was good and the staff were professional, friendly and efficient. Nice atmosphere too and great value. Looking forward to next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wow ! What great find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Tinto Tapas Bar 105 Main Street, Uddingston, G71 7EW has just recently opened here in Uddingston:
What a great addition to Uddingston's restuarants: Tinto's vast selection of Spanish tapas dishes give diners an ample choice to choose from, and experience the genuine taste of Spanish cuisine:
Their menu offers you a varied selection of 65-75 circa tapas dishes, plus 'todays specials' from the blackboard, and also a takeaway sevice, where you can order 3 tapas dishes for £7.50:
The internal and external decoration must also be commened, as it has been perfectly created to a reflect a typical Spanish Tapas Bar:
Yes, you will find that it is a very "busy & bustling" bar, with diners trying their favourite tapas dish: A selection of seven Spanish Paella (for 2 or more) dishes are also available, and are very popular dishes with diners:
Congratulations to Gordon, and Chris, a very warm welcome to Uddingston, Tinto Tapas Bar ! !
My tip ? Make a table reservation by phone first !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been to Tinto many times and never tire of it. The restaurant has a lovely warm atmosphere and you feel like you could be in the heart of Spain even on a grey glasgow day. The food is fantastic and the staff are always very friendly and accommodating. Never a bad word to say about the place!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Spain in Battlefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I’ve been to this place many times before and never got round to writing a review. All I can say is the food and service are amazing. Everything on the menu is extremely tasty and with so much choice there is something for everyone. The Sangria is also very good. I would recommend anyone to try here and I guarantee you will fall in love with it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto Tapas Bar also viewed

East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
 
East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
Uddingston, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Tinto Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinto Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.