We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and inexpensive meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Salma

Cafe Salma
523 Sauchiehall St, Glasgow G3 7PQ, Scotland (West End)
+44 141 221 7636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #510 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Indian, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: West End
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice and inexpensive meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This Moroccan cafe is not on any of the "top attractions" lists - but well worth a visit, nonetheless. We had after theatre dinner here. Great tagine, very nice soup. The wraps disappointed a bit, though. Oh, and the owner is a great character. Make sure you talk to him.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Indian Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I got a chicken bhoona curry, and i liked it cause it wasn't swimming in tomatto puree like another place i go to. The staff were very helpfull. The downside is u don't heat the plates n u don't keep the food warm at the table and half way through my meal my food ends up stone cold, even if u just heat the plates up in a microwave before hand would help, it works..... The ladies toilet could be cleaner it smells of strong urine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Decent all round.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Good curry. very good staff.
The restaurant is a bit out of the way from he centre but the prices are good.
Quite small upstairs but much more room downstairs and the atmosphere is pretty good.
This is the only Indian restaurant that asked how hot I'd like my dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A decent Moroccan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

You have to try different food one in the while. Cafe Salma is there for it. They have some nice Moroccan food (very good but not amazing) and also an indian menu.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The guy there is friendly. From the Indian stuff, I recommend the naan breads and the spicy chicken achari.. definitely not for the faint hearted. It is one of the better restaurants that serve good Indian dishes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Salma also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Salma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Salma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.