We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Italian Bistro

The Italian Bistro
1051 Great Western Road, Glasgow, Scotland
01413395575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #503 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, International, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow
1 review
“Poor Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Ate here on the 6th of April2014. Cant fault the food and the staff were lovely and made my partner and I made to feel welcome however the manager was rude and especially to his staff. Our waitress gave us top notch service. The owner should think about hiring a new manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bistroWestEnd, General Manager at The Italian Bistro, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for your feedback. We have placed a full investigation regarding your service and have now restructured our existing team and replaced where necessary.

Hopefully when you comeback, you will notice a huge difference and management style.

Best regards

George Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    68
    30
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I've passed this place for years and never even knew it was a restaurant but someone in my work recommended it to me so yesterday myself and my fiancée decided to give it a try and we sure weren't disappointed.
It's only 10 minutes from my house so we jumped a taxi and when entering the place we were blown away by the stylish decor.
The service was excellent and the food was superb and very reasonably priced.
Thanks very much for a memorable and lovely meal and one thing that's for sure is we will be back and recommend you to all our friends and family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Ate here recently with a groupon voucher. Parking is terrible and needs to be addressed as guests were blocking each other in and there doesn't appear to be any designated spaces. Restaurant is lovely inside and our meal was delicious. Staff were pleasant but not very attentive - had to sit for a while before our order was taken and no-one checked back with us if our meal was OK. Would visit again for the food alone but not sure where I would park! Could also do with a bin for cigarette butts at the front door - stopped to look at the menus on the way out and the ground was covered with them - not a good look

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service. What more do you need......a new indian restaurant by the same owners up stairs.....if the food it the opening night is as good as the food on the menu, we are in for a treat....indian platform here we come

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family teatime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Visiting family in Glasgow and restaurant was recommended to us. Very pleased with the service, Colin our waiter was very attentive, the food was very good and served promptly, which makes a huge difference when you have a little one in a high chair. The atmosphere was good and the prices reasonable. I would recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Bistro also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.