We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but on this occasion average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Italian Bistro

The Italian Bistro
1051 Great Western Road, Glasgow, Scotland
01413395575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #503 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, International, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow. Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good service but on this occasion average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Have been to this restaurant twice, the first was a much better experience than this time.

As it was a 5pm.com market menu we also had 2 starters which were nice

Ordered a steak which was ok, the chunky chips were undercooked and the salad just did not complement the meal.

The wife ordered the burger which she was pleased with.

The staff we attentive but it was quite quiet.

£12 each which included a glass of wine. Good value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    68
    30
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food and very accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My family have lived across the road from this venue for some 40 years and have seem so many different people own this location and all the different variations of what it's been but I was back home recently and decided to take my mum.
It was a Friday night and we hadn't book and on the way down I did wonder if we should have. My mum has limited mobility currently and I was back without transport so when we entered and were asked if we had a booking my heart sank. But we were in luck they could make room for us as long as we agreed to an end time.
I really don't mind that up front honesty and to be fair it was an hour and a half we had, they even managed to get us a table with room for my mum.

I will be honest and say the waiting staff a probably students and god love some of them not the greatest, but all well meaning and helpful.
The Maitr'd keeps a good eye on everything so we were never left wanting.

Food was a good nice of Italian Scottish fusion, 1st time I've had chicken stuffed with Haggis but it was delicious, as was the starter and the wine.

We actually ran over our time but they worked through the other tables to accommodate everyone.

All in all I personally thought it was really good for the price and can't complain about the level of service we recieved.

I'd also say that they are about the longest tenants of the location I can remember. They might have the odd off day and it's not luxury haute cuisine but I wouldn't think twice to recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Won't be in a rush back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were staying at a nearby hotel and after we had read all the reviews about the Italian Bistro decided to try it out for dinner. Bad choice. I had made the booking over 2 weeks prior, had email confirmation of my request, only to be told when we turned up they had no record of it, which to me is poor service. Anyway, seeing as we were only one of 3 couples in the whole restaurant, we were quickly seated and given menus. The food which to follow was terrible, 'Italian food' it was not. Every dish was saturated in cheese with no real taste to it. Our waitress even remarked on how little we had eaten. A huge disappointment to a meal we had been looking forward to. The only good remark about this place, was our waitress, who was very sweet and appeared to be the only one actually working!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have driven past this restaurant many times and wondered what it would be like.
Situated in a beautiful blonde sandstone building I imagined that it would be as attractive inside.... well I was disappointed.The interior is somewhat bland and lacking in atmosphere/ ambience and I found the temperature rather cold.i was glad that I had my jacket on!
The food itself was fine but nothing out of the ordinary.
Our waiter was pleasant enough but his self presentation was poor: his shirt could have done with an iron.
Overall I was disappointed and I wont be rushing back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite west end eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We are regulars at this lovely restaurant, and love its laid back ambience.

My wife and two adult daughters took me there for my birthday meal, and we had a fabulous evening.

The staff were welcoming and attentive , and we were shown to our table in a quiet corner of the restaurant.

Starters chosen were a mixture of traditional Italian dishes, though the favourite main was chicken breast with haggis filling - delicious.

We were a tad ambitious with the weighty chessboard, but overall would once again highly commend this gem of a restaurant.

Living within a mile has its advantages - though the fact that we return so often tells its own story.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Bistro also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.