We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkville

The Parkville
296 Glasgow Road | Blantyre, Glasgow G72 9DG, Scotland
+44 1698 822861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 1,869 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Parkville Hotel is a gem of a community pub, restaurant and hotel, situated near to The David Livingston Memorial Visitor Centre in Blantyre. Voted Scotland's Best Community Pub in The Entertainment Guide's 2014 Awards, The Parkville Hotel mixes the Traditional with the Modern. The bedrooms, launched in June 2014, coupled with outstanding food and entertainment with a dedicated function suite ideal for weddings and parties makes this a great place to stay and to play!
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The menu is fantastic and the choice of smaller portions is excellent , it allows room for more than one course , the food presentation is excellent one of my favourite restaurants

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Parkville, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to post your lovely comments, we are glad that The Parkville is one of your favourite restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“birthday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

had a lovely night at the Parkville on thursday night with 12 friends for my 60th birthday. First time for me there and it was lovely. Nice place, well presented and tasty food with plenty of choice, superb sweets and reasonable costs. Staff were attentive and very pleasant..It was a memorable night and I will certainly be bringing my hubby to visit.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Parkville, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments, we will pass these onto our staff. We are so glad you had a great visit and we can’t wait to welcome you and guests back to The Parkville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good food at a good price.
Had lunch recently and was really relaxing.
I didnt realise it was so big and has a really nice atmosphere. Great wee day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Parkville, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great xmas party night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had an absolutely fantastic time, food very nice although would have preferred a bit more options but to be expected when there's so many people to cater for, music really good a great mix of old and new and lots of christmas songs, dance floor was jumping.Very reasonable bar prices expecially compared to previous christmas nights in other hotels/restaurants. Hardly any waiting time at the bar which is great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Parkville, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas party night at The Parkville. We can’t wait to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

first time in this place and was absolutely stunned with it loved the food the staff were so helpful the pricewise wasnt that expensive, the rose wine was gorgeous.

Will definately be back and going to order the haggis fritters again they were delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parkville also viewed

 
Blantyre, South Lanarkshire
Blantyre, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Parkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.