We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Republic Bier Halle

Republic Bier Halle
9 Gordon Street, Glasgow, Scotland (Merchant City)
0141 204 0706
Improve this listing
Ranked #462 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Merchant City
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Bit Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Can't think of anywhere else like this place. Beer selection is great and 2 for 1 pizzas 7 days a week is great. All in all no bad at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    89
    21
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

So I have been here before, rated it 5 stars and left happy. This time, I brought a friend from Edinburgh to try this place out. Long way for some wiessbier but worth it, so I thought.

We had to wait 30 minutes on a table, fair enough. Saturday night and all that, so we went to bar, had a drink. Decent enough.

The overwhelming theme of this place was organised chaos .. Maybe not organised tho.

So we waited for a table, got sat down, picked our food and drinks and waited to be seen by a waitress.. And waited... And waited ... And waited. So after 30, yes, 30 minutes we had made eye contact with every staff member possible and a few chefs but were ignored. Finally gave up, ready to eat the menu by this point.
Spoke to manager on way out. She was nice enough but really failed to deal with the issue.
Went to bar soba around the corner and had amazing meal, so the positive was in the negative.

Bier Halle, it has a nice selection of beirs, and from someone who travels the world tasting them, this is the draw to travel from Edinburgh but the totally failed this time.

Problem is, staff are disinterested and have no love for the customer, in service environment that's death.

Sorry but you have got to do better

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great tasting pizza always on offer! You get what you pay for and more restaurants should take note of the paying in advance idea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having heard many great things, I finally had the chance to go through to Glasgow and visit the bier halle.
It was busy, always good, so my friend and I decided to get a table and try their 2-4-1 pizza offer. Stornaway black pudding pizza- yes please! So we booked a table and were told it be a 30 min wait. No problem. Nice beers, and a lively atmosphere, all good. We duly got our table after 30 mins, were given menus, and then ignored for 30 minutes. We tried several times to catch the attention of the waiting staff, who served and table touched, two tables around us, and proceeded to blatantly ignored us. Enough was enough, and in departing we asked to speak to the manager/manageress. She didn't deal with the problem, ie no service, and offered to sort it for our next visit. A little difficult since I work hospitality, and very rarely have a Friday night off, and I live in Edinburgh. She seemed more concerned about where we sat than actually dealing with our complaint. Very very disappointed with the service. The bier was nice, but would have tasted better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Came here with quite a large group and we had booked. I had heard good things about the Bierhalle but I was rather disappointed. The drinks are expensive and the selection is indeed extensive but there isn't much emphasis on German beers, contrary to the suggestive name of the place. Their 2 for 1 pizza deal is good value but you wouldn't want to pay full price for one. They weren't very big pizzas at all. It's also a shame that there isn't much by way of German-themed food either. The service was not at all good as it seemed confusing as to whether or not there was table service for the drinks. It even says on the menu that you have to pay for each drinks order when it arrives. The staff had poor maths and were not able to split a simple bill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic Bier Halle also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Republic Bier Halle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Republic Bier Halle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.