We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, home cooked indian food in a pleasant environment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koolba

Koolba
109 Candleriggs, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 552 2777
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Koolba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
1 review
“Delicious, home cooked indian food in a pleasant environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great central location and they made the effort to fit us in on a busy Saturday night.
The food was lovely; not overly salted or sweet with fresh vegetables and tender meat. Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattah H, Owner at Koolba, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Hooooog.

Thanks for the really positive review. Hopefully next time we delight you enough to warrant a 5/5 - please let us know if there is anything we can implement to improve our rating with you.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Fattah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    122
    33
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bellshill
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wow!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

this has to be the finest Indian restaurant in Glasgow by a mile everything from the food to the service is topclass we arrived on a busy Saturday night and were made to feel so welcome we started with the veg pakora words cant describe how good it is then we had two curries with rice which were to die for, special mention though for the rice and the garlic nan which are amazing finished off with ice cream and Indian jam donuts which were topclass all in all wouldnt go anywhere else even if u payed me words can't describe how good Koolba is so you will have to go to try it yourself i promise you won't be disapointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattah H, Owner at Koolba, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Dorry,

Many thanks for the accolade of finest Indian restaurant in Glasgow - we all really appreciate that.

I'm glad you like our food and service, we have a great chef and kitchen team and it really shows. We'll keep up the good work at our end for your next visit.

Let us know when you are popping in next time.

Fattah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Nan Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Saturday 26th January 2013. Could not find a restaurant in the City Centre that was not fully booked. Eventually my husband and I passed Kool Ba, saw a few empty seats and decided we would make do with a curry. What a surprise. The menu is biased towards curries but if you go to the back page, there is a bbqKool menu to die for. Lamb, chicken, Shishlak kebob. Beautiful. You must try the nan bread. It is tasty, light and crispy. Go for the bread and home made chick pea dip.(cant spell hummus???) Friendly service. Thought staff recommendations were a bit pushy at first but they are really directing you towards the best dishes of the day. Goan sea bass fab. Don't miss it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattah H, Owner at Koolba, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Jane,

Thank you for taking a chance with us on that Saturday evening. I'm glad we could accommodate you. You have given us great feedback and I do hope that we see you again. I'm sorry if we came across as pushy at first, this is not our style, we offer a relaxed but attentive service to our customers.

I do hope we see you both again very soon.

Fattah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Before you even taste the food you can smell how delicious it is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been going to koolba for more than a year now and the only time we have been disappointed was when we forgot to book and they were full. We love the food and the atmosphere and we always feel welcome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattah H, Owner at Koolba, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello jlawson,

Thank you for reviewing us. A year, that's great, I'm really pleased to read you have been visiting us consistently over a whole year. I'm glad you like our restaurant and food and apologies we couldn't fit you in that time, we were just very busy!

Hope to see you again soon.

Fattah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Without doubt Glasgow's finest Indian restaurant. Food is excellent, both in quality and quantity, and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful.
Was recommended to us by a local taxi driver and now we wouldn't go anywhere else in Glasgow. We use it on a regular basis and are never disappointed.
Cammy D

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattah H, Owner at Koolba, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Camilla

Thank you so much for the kind words. I'm looking forward to seeing you again soon. I'm glad we can consistently keep you coming back to us!

We'll endeavour to keep the standards set.

Kind regards

Fattah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koolba also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Koolba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koolba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.