We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shandon Belles

Shandon Belles
652 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 6UF, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 141 221 8188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $27
Cuisines: Bistro, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Part of the 2 Fat Ladies Group and located beneath the Buttery. Warm and cosy evironment decorated with reclaimed church wood. Complimented by the friendly staff on hand to help with all questions and all needs.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Made the mistake of thinking I could walk to the restaurant from the city centre - I got lost! However a taxi soon sorted this out. Restaurant is in an odd location. Smarter restaurant upstairs at the front. Shandon Belles is downstairs and a little more relaxed. I liked the décor - it is light and fresh. The temperature was a little warm. Staff were very friendly and looked after us well. Food was good value and very tasty. The wine list is a little limited and a bit confusing but what we had was good. We had a very enjoyable evening - I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    89
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal for a table of 16”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a really good meal for a table of 16, fairly limited choice from a set menu but everyone seemed to enjoy their food. The cheeseboard was a bit disappointing, badged as Scottish cheese but it was definitely style over taste The tablet with coffee made up for it! Waiting staff were delightful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The Two Fat Ladies' Wee Sister!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having always enjoyed the rather formal but tremendously characterful atmosphere of the Buttery (although - for us - it has never been quite the same since they commandeered the delightful old bar area to accommodate more dining tables) we were very pleasantly surprised by their cellar bistro. It was really quite charming although we were one of only two tables on a Friday lunch time. The food and service were first class and with a choice of house wine at £12 a bottle, extremely reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Again very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Again we had a very good meal in Shandon Belles. It seems to get even better with each visit, despite the fact we thought it was very good after our first experience there. There was a good choice of very well prepared food at a reasonable price. The experience was enhanced by the excellent service from the staff, in particular, Alan who undoubtedly enjoys his job and makes you feel that you are the most important patron in the restaurant. Full marks to Alan. I do hope his employers appreciate what an asset he is to Shandon Belles. Also thank you to everyone behind the scenes who all help to make this rather quirky restaurant so good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited on a Saturday afternoon and unfortunately my wife and I were the only 2 customers in the restaurant. Dont know if that is unusual or due to the location. Although the restaurant is only ten minute walk from city centre over the bridge across the motorway by car it is rather awkward to get to.The service was very good and friendly assume this is always the case but hard to judge when you are the only two customers. Food was very nice and tasty and good value.Rather put off with the lack of customers which creates funny atomosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shandon Belles also viewed

 

Been to Shandon Belles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shandon Belles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.