We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly Rings the Bell!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shandon Belles

Shandon Belles
652 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 6UF, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 141 221 8188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,869 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $24 - $28
Cuisines: Scottish, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Part of the 2 Fat Ladies Group and located beneath the Buttery. Warm and cosy evironment decorated with reclaimed church wood. Complimented by the friendly staff on hand to help with all questions and all needs.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Certainly Rings the Bell!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I gave it six stars but took one off for location although it is just on the edge of the city centre!. I know where it is but Glasgow Visitors might have some difficulty. Just tell the taxi driver,--"The Buttery " but enter down the stairs and not at street level ie The Buttery!
Food excellent, but not huge portions. Very good Chilean house wine, all served up by excellent and knowledgeable staff.
Intimate atmosphere,-- that means it is quite small but all the other plus's more than compensate for this.
The tablet served with the coffee is excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    83
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely little hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a lovely little bistro hidden away in the basement. The meal was lovely and amazing value for money.The staff were friendly and attentive and didn't seem to mind that our taxi was late and didn't arrive until 11.50pm! We will definately be back. Well done!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food and service, awkward location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I chose Shandon Belles having read the reviews, and found everything enjoyable about the meal - interesting varied menu (I had chicken liver pate and cajun salmon), well presented and very good value at £12 for 2 courses. Service by the two young ladies there was delightful. But - I nearly didn't get there at all. I chose to walk from where I was staying as it was less than a mile. The address 652 Argyle Street is very misleading - this major Glasgow street has been sliced through in two places, one side by the M8, and on the other it has disappeared under a housing estate. 652 is on an isolated remnant of the street. I only got there by ringing them for directions. I was surprised to read that the Two Fat Ladies group actually chose this location only in 2007. I can't think why. It is isolated and unattractive. One of the waitresses gave me directions for returning, which involved a rather dark pedestrian route under the motorway - not enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of Glasgow's hidden gems.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great little restaurant. Food was delicious, presentation was good and the service was quick and effective. Will have to go back and experience it again as it was a delight. Anyone looking for a night out with friends or just a dinner for two, will love the atmosphere in the shabby chic surroundings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Lovely,cosy space...decent pre-theatre value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how gorgeous this little place was inside...really beautifully done in a homely, cosy way.I can go off somewhere quite quickly if I don't like the space but this was perfect.
Nice homemade bread. My starter risotto was excellent, lots of flavour.Main courses really excellent - and a nice side of what looked like lightly roasted veg.Dessert was beautiful....a crumble-type pudding, a big favourite.Nice choices too.
It was so good we booked a family get-together two nights later for 9 people,it was such a good experience.Nice, friendly service, professional but relaxed.The tablet we were served with our coffee was a major first - as good as homemade!! Too often it is relatively tasteless but this was the real thing.I hope they keep this up!
Don't let the down-beat exterior surroundings put you off (it's not the nicest part of Glasgow) .it has great parking and is a gem,especially at that price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shandon Belles also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Shandon Belles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shandon Belles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.