We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous decadence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blythswood Square to your Saves list
Blythswood Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fabulous decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visited at end of January. Staff wonderful, helpful and above all cheerful. Rooms bigger than average and well appointed. Loved the sliding window between the bathroom and bedroom. Spa fabulous, and treatments very luxurious. Can thoroughly recommend the cocktails!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    328
    115
    36
    18
See reviews for
115
830
54
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday night on the midweek spa break. Arrived early and reception very efficiently stored luggage, called us when room ready and put luggage in room for us. Check in very easy, table for dinner and taxi to SECC all organised in an instant. Concierge also put change in parking meter for us whilst we were in spa next day.
Had lunch in upstairs bar on arrival - service very slow but food nice.
Dinner in restaurant overall good though I was disappointed to be coerced into having bottled water esp when at all other times in bar or restaurant the first thing you are given is a glass of chilled tap water!
Breakfast unsatisfactory - our order was taken for cooked breakfast, not written down and consequently wrong items on both our plates - this was rectified but I was still missing a tattie scone! We had already waited a long time and overall wait was 40 minutes! Also my poached eggs were raw and inedible.
Spa was lovely and treatments very good though they mixed up our bookings so my husband and I had to change rooms and therapists after we had been taken through.
Room as expected but turn down service a non event!
Overall enjoyed our stay but too many mistakes with service

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel and we stayed in a classic double room. Had delicious and reasonably priced cocktails in the gorgeous lounge bar and a good breakfast in the stunning restaurant. Reception staff were lovely and we even got into our room 3 hours early!

However a few things would have made it just that bit more special....there were no robes or slippers in the wardrobe (and we did ask for them). Maybe the luxury rooms have them. There was no heated towel rail, so our towels were still wet the next morning. And the room was VERY dark with limited natural light. Just a small window...but a huge curtain covering the whole wall. When we pulled back the curtain and released it was just a wall and not a window behind it, it was a bit disappointing. But we were out all day anyway, so it didn't really matter.

The spa was a bit disappointing. The service was not that of Stobo or the Sheraton spa, where I have been recently - and we were just pointed down the stairs in the general direction, rather than being shown around and shown how to use the lockers.

Overall it was a lovely stay though and, with the exception of the girl on the spa, the rest of the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

my husband and I have stayed 3 times in this classy hotel.Staff very welcoming and friendly.David at concierge very helpful and friendly .We had afternoon tea,then dinner.The spa is super,very relaxing.We adore going to this hotel like being at home ,but with all the pampering you would expect from a 5 star hotel.Cant wait to go back again soon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just returned from Blythswood Square hotel. On arrival we were greeted at reception by Katrina & received a nice welcome with a speedy efficient check-in. Our car was parked for us with no hassle from a very pleasant concierge man. It was duly returned at the exact time requested on our departure. We were shown & our luggage was taken to our room. The rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds. The bathroom was immaculate & a great size. Following arrival we enjoyed a very nice afternoon tea. Staff were all very pleasant & courteous. We visited the spa area which is one of the best I have been to. Again friendly pleasant staff showed us around the various areas. Food & beverages are also served in this area which is perfect for chilling. There is a large choice at the cold breakfast buffet & a hot breakfast was cooked to order which was delicious. All the staff working in this area could not do enough to make sure all was well. Thank you to the manager here who does a great job. The hotel is situated in the centre of town so easy access to most places. We certainly found the hotel to be of 5 star quality.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I visited the Blythswood Square Hotel recently for a drink with my friend and just want to say how lovely the staff were. We were upstairs in the cocktail bar and we were served by Corrie, who, not only is he friendly and helpful, is very knowledgable and informative about wine/cocktails and appears to enjoy it too. There were also two other staff members there, Amy and Phil who made us feel very welcome and looked after us very well. We'll definitely be back for more.
The best place to go for a drink/cocktail !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I always go away for her birthday and this year we decided to stay a little closer to home and enjoy Glasgow. From check-in with the very helpful and welcoming staff, we were treated to the best of service. We arrived in the room to find complimentary chocolates and prosecco along with a lovely note from the manager telling us to enjoy the birthday stay. The rooms were lovely with stunning marble bathrooms. The view was towards the back of the building but not really important for us. We were supplied robes and footwear for the spa. The spa itself was fantastic too. Exceptionally clean, enormously relaxing and fantastic layout. After heading out for dinner, we arrived back for some great cocktails (albeit after a bit of a wait - the only down point of stay). Breakfast was good with perhaps our tastes and expectations a bit different to what was on offer. I genuinely felt that nothing was too much trouble and left feeling we would have paid double for what we experienced. Leaves Cameron House & Carrick trailing greatly in my opinion.

Room Tip: We had one of their "Classic Bedrooms" i.e their lowest standard but it was still absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blythswood Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.