We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blythswood Square

Save Saved
You added Blythswood Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Five star all round. Bed, bath and pillows were top quality. Breakfast was worth the £13. Within walking distance of train station if fit (uphill and about 1/2 mile). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    947
    286
    101
    32
    16
See reviews for
99
742
50
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We married on Saturday and arrived at the Blythswood for afternoon tea. The attention of the staff to making our small wedding party feel special and welcome was excellent.
They catered to all our finicky tastes (no mayonaisse, no mustard, white bread, allergic to cheese!) without batting an eyelid, nothing was too much trouble and the slate plate bearing the petit fours and a "Congratulations" message was a pleasant surprise.
Definitely need to book here again, perhaps for our anniversary?........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the square deal package at this hotel back in November 2012. The Spa is the highlight of this hotel and definitely worth a visit - lots of different spa rooms to relax in, and great ambient lighting. The bedroom we were in was a standard room - not the biggest - but it did have nice contemporary decor and a good sized bathroom. Our bulb in the bedside lamp was broke, and our pitcher of beer was missing in action, but both minor issues were resolved very quickly by the efficient reception staff. I'd describe this hotel as bustling - it's in the heart of the city, and attracts a range of people for drinks post work, cocktails early evening and staying guests. Our meal as part of the DBB package was lovely - the restaurent was full - and we enjoyed drinks on our return to the hotel at the end of the evening. Breakfast was good - eggs benedict were to a high standard. I've had a friend comment to me that they'd heard mixed reviews of this hotel, however our experience was positive and I would return. The spa would be fab for a girlie day out with friends. Overall I think it's a hotel worth going to, and it is good value to try it out on the hotel's "Square Deal" package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Spa is brilliant and well worth a visit. Room good, especially bath, but ventilation poor and not much isolation from noise of traffic outside. Cocktails excellent but food only average. Overall good value on Hotel's "Square Deal" package.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a great time here, lovely room, great service, great food and pleasant staff. In a good location, parking nearby - a pain having to pay for parking but of course to be expected so central in a city. Beautiful views over the square and the spa is to die for. Will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at this beautiful hotel for one night in early April. I was traveling alone and had never been to Glasgow. I had booked a spa appointment and was treated to a heavenly experience. Don't hesitate to indulge - it was so relaxing and helped with jet lag immensely! After traveling from the States it was just what I needed. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and the service was great. However, Tom, the Concierge, truly went above and beyond the call of duty. First, he arranged a car for me to travel to Oban since the train schedule was not conducive to my travel plans. Then when I accidentally left my travel portfolio at the hotel, I called Tom and he tracked it down for me and had it overnighted to my B&B in Oban. My worries were put at ease, and it was such a relief and allowed me to enjoy the next stop on my trip. I can't wait to return to Glasgow and of course, to Blythswood Square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night , 2nd time here.
Lovely Room, great food.

Bar has very nice atmosphere and wide range of cocktails.

Staff very friendly and helpful.
A bit of Luxury !!!
Spa facilities are brilliant with really good facilities !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blythswood Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.