We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird

Hummingbird
186 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4HG, Scotland (City Centre)
0141 332 8513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #545 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: A fantasy escape over four floors, encompassing numerous bars, a restaurant and a unique club space, as well as a multitude of party pods and secret corners to discover.This is no ordinary bar / club / venue / pub / hang out / restaurant{ delete as appropiate }
glasgow, scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Attended her for several business meetings and also had dinner. Food very good, staff helpful and ideal city centre location

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there, thank you for leaving us a short and sweet review we really appreciate the positive feedback and are delighted that you had a good one! Hope to see you soon.

The Bird x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    15
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab private 40th party night in Hummingbird's Posh room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked the posh room at Hummingbird for a private party for my friend's 40th. Was slightly apprehensive that the venue would be appropriate for our age group as well as whether we would get value for money but can say that we all had a fantastic night, the venue was great, the food was great and the service was great!

We had approx 20 - 24 people and the room was the perfect size, not too empty, not all squashed in. We had room to mingle, and then later on to boogie to our own music or to whoever was on karaoke.

The room was all set up when we arrived with ice buckets of wine or beer that we pre-ordered on the tables. The buffet arrived when we asked and there was plenty to go round. Food was tasty. Drinks were reasonably priced and more so if you opted for some of the packages which we did.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant but not overly intrusive.

All in all, everyone had a fab night and we are all talking about it having been the best night out in a long time!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What a lovely review to greet us into the new week! You have set the tone for the rest of our week here at Hummingbird! So glad you had a good one we hope to see you again in the future!

Don't be a stranger!

The Bird x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We did a cocktail class for a hen do. It was excellent value. We all got to make a cocktail then the barman made us another. We didnt realise the price included a buffet aswell! It was a great start to the day - highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there! So glad to hear you had a great time here in Hummingbird, so happy to recieve your review. Here at Hummingbird we appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you think!

Don't be a stranger now!

Hb x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Cocktails - if a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Venue was hire for a 40th birthday. The main room at the top of the building, this had a bar and sound system. The failing here is that if you wanted anything other than a bottled beer or a spirit. You had to go down stairs to the main bar; this is not the best when you’re carrying cocktail glasses whist wearing high heels and navigation 5 flights of stairs. That said they make a good Bloody Mary … Over all it’s a nice venue I like the ideas of different rooms for different occasions, but I do think that if you hire a room for a function that has a bar, you should not need to go wandering for a cocktail, given that Humming bird promotes itself as a cocktail bar.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there! Thanks so much for getting in touch and letting us know what the chat is! We hear you we'll take what you say on board 100% and we'll try and think of a more heel friendly solution to this dilemma!

Keep in touch, would be lovely to hear from you again!


Hb x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fun atmosphere with great staff :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went to Hummingbird on a Saturday afternoon, hadn't booked a table but staff were very welcoming and quickly arranged a space for our group. The atmosphere was great even early on in the day & drinks were delicious. The 2 female managers in particular were lovely. We will definetely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there!

So glad to hear you had a good one! We really do appreciate you taking the time out to get in touch with us especially to compliment our venue and the service. We pride ourselves on the best customer service possible and it's refreshing to see it hasn't fallen on deaf ears!

Keep in touch and don't be a stranger!

In a bit!

The Bird x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Hummingbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.