We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food in a cosy wee cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Star

North Star
108 Queen Margaret Drive, Glasgow g20 8nz, Scotland
+44 141 946 5365
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: North star is a little cafe bistro, we offer you a good selection of breakfast lunch, sandwiches,panini and also special dishes every day. We are making everything fresh by order ,we also have a good selection of home made cakes and scones. North star is the perfect place to have your breakfast,lunch or coffee break!!!!
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent food in a cosy wee cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Im a regular customer at North Star and I can just say that the food they serve is excellent, ciabatte and panini are simply great and there are always different "special of the day" , which often are very good italian meals. Coffee as well is good and there are also handmade cakes/focaccia/breakfast-style mini pizza available everyday! the owners are also making feel everyone comfortable and relaxed! great wee place inthe west end of Glasgow!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice small cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have visited this place for years and now it seems to be owned by Italians. The atmosphere is nice and you get a lovely range of dishes. French toast is lovely as well as their homemade soup. Worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great local venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Always happy to be at North Star. Consistent local family bistro that often is excellent. Great for brunch and special group events

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Eats and Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was lucky enough to be brought here for brunch once (try the French toast!!) and would have my school christmas party here based on how positive the experience was. The food is delicious and everything is incredibly fresh and homemade (Tiramisu? Homemade. Foccacia? Homemade? My ability to spell the names of Italian food? Minimal).
However, beyond the food, what was most appreciated was the warmth and treatment of the staff. They'll remember your name, remember your dietary restrictions, and make any party (of up to 22 or so people) a night to remember.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We held our Christmas dinner at the North Star, and it couldn't have gone better! Ester and Mauritzio treated us to a wonderful meal in a lovely atmosphere, and I've received nothing but praise about the food and venue since. I would truly recommend North Star to everyone in Glasgow!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Star also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to North Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.