We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good Buzz.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery

Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery
652 Argyle Street, Glasgow, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 141 221 8188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great staff, good Buzz.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a very enjoyable anniversary dinner at the Buttery - great service, good buzz for a Monday night, nice wine and food. That said one slight disappointment was the very dry and thin monkfish which my wife had as her main course, not at all up to expectation. However it did not take away from a very good evening,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    180
    40
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nonthaburi Province, Thailand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Service Like Superstar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends for dinner. The place was packed. Ordered monkfish and king prawns. Both taste great. The breads are fresh and delicious. The desserts are second to none. Recommend if you go to Glasgow. Must book early.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We went there during lunch on a Sunday and tried their 3 course meal. the restaurant was almost empty - guessing Sunday lunch is not a busy time for them. I am a big foodie and travel to restaurants around the world so have really high expectations. In comparision to some great restaurants I have eaten at this was ok, a bit on the bland side. But have to compliment the staff as the service was very nice and they were very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Fine staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant, which we picked based on reviews here and on a recommendation from the Concierge at our hotel (Radisson Blu). The food was world class, the wine well recommended. After dinner, as we were curious about malt whiskys, the Maitre was very helpful in guiding us through a couple of choices to taste. A few days later, when talking to a resident in Pitlochry, it was interesting to learn that he was going to pick this as the location for his 'graduation from college' dinner with his parents, based on glowing reviews by those he knew who had been. I'll echo what he said: Pricy but worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for a special event meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited the two fat ladies with my partner in July as a treat for her birthday. This was our first visit there and we'll most definitely be back.
As I wasn't familiar with the location I phoned the restaurant for information and Gavin the Manager couldn't have been more helpful. He gave me precise travel details and even advised on the distance and best mode of travel from the City Centre.
On arrival I was a bit concerned by the appearance of the exterior of the premises as it didn't look too clever and in fact appeared a bit run down but thankfully the same couldn't have been said about the inside of the building.
It is traditional and quaint but immaculate and classy at the same time.
On arrival we were greeted by Gavin and he showed us to a seat in the lounge area where we had a pre meal cocktail.
The meal itself was delicious and beautifully presented with both of us having scallops as a starter and then my partner having sea bass with a lovely crisp skin and I had a beef dish which was complete with fresh perfectly cooked veg and a jus. The food was outstanding!!
Gavin was aware it was my partners birthday and as a result appeared with a plate filled with small desserts adorned with a candle and the words Happy Birthday etched on to the plate in chocolate. A very nice touch which the restaurant didn't have to provide but that's the difference between average and excellent customer care!
To top the afternoon off Gavin presented my partner with a half bottle of prosecco " on the house" as a birthday gift........ .another fantastic touch which the restaurant didn't have to provide but which made all the difference.
I would urge readers to go and try it out........we will certainly return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.