We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashoka West End

Ashoka West End
1284 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8AB, Scotland (West End)
+44 141 339 3371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $17 - $68
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Ask any Glaswegian for directions to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, and they're sure to say "D'you know the Ashoka West End?" Immortalised as a famous culinary landmark, it sits on the corner of the longest street and shortest road in the city, and shines like a beacon and acts like a magnet to Glasgow's colossal curry eating fraternity.This is the first ever Ashoka started in 1973
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing staff, food and affordable price. It was a 5pm deal which we had booked. We made it on time and were greeted nicely and seated. Everything went just perfect and could not ask more.
I would definitely recommend this to everyone. A must go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    134
    65
    18
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Faboulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing, I went with my girlfriend, waiters are helping and knowledgeable chicken tikka masala and murgh makhanwala are out of this world worth the visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Microwaved Meals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to Ashoka west end a couple of nights ago on a 5pm deal. Dinner for two with a couple of drinks each included. We were not impressed in the slightest. Firstly there are around 6-8 tables too many in the restaurant which made it feel incredibly small and cramped. Secondly, both curries we ordered were served in white crockery (99% they had both just come from the microwave as they both had preheated films over them exactly as when you put something in the microwave!).We have been to the southside Ashoka which we would highly recommend to anyone. Raj is amazing there and we were dissappointed we didn't just go there. Will never go back to the west end Ashoka.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Came here last week for my wife's birthday with all the family. The food was delicious, especially the chicken tikka masala which was second to none! I would happily come back for this alone! It was very busy but despite this the service was excellent. Will be back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ashoka - a shocker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having told my Husband that the Ashoka used to be one of the top Indian restaurants in Glasgow, when I lived there in the 80s, we were looking forward to our night out. After finding the place (I haven't been back for many years) which took some doing, we were led to a small corner table next to the kitchen. We asked the waiter if they did gluten free - he offered one starter and one curry as recommended by the Chef. My Husband ordered the one starter which was chicken - 'chicken drumsticks' and the main was Chicken Bhuna. I ordered vegetable samosa and Chicken Tikka Masala. The 'chicken drumsticks' were served with a sauce, that was infused with tomato ketchup, and cold onion and cucumber pieces, the chicken itself was fine but you couldn't get away from the taste of ketchup. The vegetable samosas were very stodgy and had little or no vegetable inside. Not put off by this, we waited for our mains, after a while they finally arrived. The chicken was served with pilau rice which was brown in colour and stodgy, I have never seen pilau rice like this before. The chicken bhuna was spicy, again with a hint of tomato ketchup, but what was more surprising was the chicken tikka masala. I had always assumed that the sauce for chicken tikka masala was tomato based with cream with no vegetables. To our surprise this sauce had green peppers, red peppers, onions and chilli which was dark brown in colour.The naan bread couldn't even excite us. Fortunately, as we had a Living Social voucher, we only paid for our three glasses of coke, which was
7 pounds 50 pence. We didn't leave a tip. For the discerning palette of Indian cuisine the Ashoka serves the local student population. Perhaps several pints of lager would be a fair suggestion before entering this establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka West End also viewed

 

Been to Ashoka West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashoka West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.