We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hay @ Hay we'd forgotten how good this place is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashoka - Southside

Ashoka - Southside
268 Clarkston Road | Southside Gardens, Glasgow G44 3EA, Scotland
0141 6370711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Curry devotees have been worshipping at the temple of Ashoka since the 80s. This, the chain���s Glasgow South Side branch, was created to appease folk from south of the river who loved the brand but hated the travel. Boasting an interior with a Last Days of the Raj meets style bar look, Ashoka has the kind of atmosphere which appeals more to bhuna babes than the middle aged ���lads��� on a rampage who frequent your average curry house. The interior may be pared down but the menu is packed with Indian favourites as well as house specialities, leaving even decisive diners with a difficult decision to make.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hay @ Hay we'd forgotten how good this place is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were on our way to the Bank for some pup grub when we passed the Ashoka and couldn't resist the delicious aroma wafting from it's kitchen so a couple of drinks in the bank and back we went and we weren't dissapointed from the superb curries to the perfect tandoori roti (very hard to get this done properly only had it that good once before) and the service couldn't be faulted got to give a special mention to Raj our lovely enthusiastic waiter, def won't leave it too long before we visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    60
    14
    3
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HIDDEN JEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the best Indian restaurant that we have found in Glasgow. Food is excellent staff are very attentive and the ambiance is very romantic. I find the prices to be very reasonable. I have heard they have added fish dishes to their menu, which I have not tried but i am sure they will be equally delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“stunning as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

as always the Ashoka south side was superb food, brilliant service and relaxing and back to the food, unbeatable. every saturday we eat takeaway from here and it is as said unbeatable but once eery few weeks we eat in and the food is just that bit better - how you get better than 100% is difficult but the team in the ashoka manage it every time. great team in there, great personal recognition makes a difference and they do every time recognise myself and my wife. we love the west end but no need to travel when this delivers every time. been eating here for a decade now and would not deviate - even beats a curry in Birmingham! cheers , and raj still there giving us great service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Super Curry House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have been going to Ashoka Southside for many years and we have never been disappointed. The food is always excellent ( our favourite is the Chicken Tikka, succulent and tasty from the sizzler, with a lovely special sauce on the side). The staff are always welcoming and attentive,esp Raj who cannot do enough for you. In our opinion, one of the best curry restaurants in Glasgow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great curry house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been curry devotees for man,y many years and felt that despite the abundance of curry restaurants in Glasgow they are all very similar. The Ashoka south side is a cut above the pack. The staff are very friendly, particularly the girls and also Raj, who is always attentive. The food is exceptional from the mouth watering haggis pakora to the melting lamb Karahi and tenderest Chicken Dhansac. Not a large restaurant but a friendly and welcoming place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka - Southside also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ashoka - Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashoka - Southside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.