We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, drink selection and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babbity Bowster

Babbity Bowster
16-18 Blackfriars Street, Glasgow, Scotland (City Centre)
+44(0)1415525055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #421 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, drink selection and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent a great night in here sampling various beers on tap plus the steak pie which was on as a special.The place was jumping and a great time was had by five of us. Right in the heart of the merchant city and well worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beer Very Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We popped into the bar for a nightcap having eaten nearby.
My husband had a pint of Peroni which cost £5.00! A 175ml glass of Merlot was £5.25, which again was a tad of the expensive side.
However, to pay that much for a pint of Peroni is ridiculous!
We'll have our nightcap elsewhere in future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“top tatties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have been here on several ocassions and normally add to the list of things to do when entertaining visitors as this pub offers reasonably priced and very tasty Scottish fare.

Always clean and tidy, the landlady is always very attentive as are the other bar staff, the place is comfortable and welcoming and will have a roaring fire during the colder months!!

I agree with other reviewers in that there is an excellent choice of beers and the clootie dumpling is also worth a go if you have a very sweet tooth!

Excellent, city centre pub with very reasonable priced Scottish food, enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great fun and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I found this pub through TripAdvisor. This pub lived up to the hype. We don't care for Scottish fare, so we ordered Escallope of Chicken, the daily special. It was delicious. The wait staff (one woman waiting the entire place) was great, efficient, and very pleasant. The pub was also lively with very happy noise. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good time and good food that is reasonably priced. A reservation wouldn't hurt. We were there early (6:00-ish) on a Friday night and the pub was already nearly full.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I left my heart in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

When the book of gastro pubs is written properly, then this place deserves a mention - beer, whisky and wine are all treated with respect and the Cullen Skink [soup of the gods] is a firm favourite. The owner is a regular feature and he (appears to) select staff with care as they are bright, helpful and thorough...moving this whole place to Shaw would be bad for my liver and my pocket.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbity Bowster also viewed

 

Been to Babbity Bowster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babbity Bowster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.