We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in glasgow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
26a Renfield Street, Glasgow G2 1LU, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 221 9251
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best place in glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having eaten a lot of curries in Glasgow (i now live in London but the curries in Glasgow are the best and whenever i visit every night is a curry night!), i was wary of not going to my usual favourites. But friends recommended this place and well done them. Charcoals has won me over BIG TIME. The food is brilliant, the service brilliant and i just wish i could move the place to London! Each time i visit Glasgow i will be going back to Charcoals. My mum loved the place too and she is just as choosy with curry houses. Great work to the chefs for their incredible flavours and fusions. Food tastes amazing. Well done to the team for making us feel so welcome. This deserves award after award. The best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    232
    63
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice but I was expecting something a little better due to the great reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited this restaurant for lunch because of the amazing reviews on tripadvisor. I would say that I was certainly not disappointed as the food was lovely but there were a few little niggles such as the service could have been friendlier and the toilets of a better standard etc. Its always difficult when you read such great reviews as you go in with your ridiculously high expectations and are generally bound to be a little disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First class in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been Charcoals addicts for over a year now and I am pleased to say it keeps surprising us. Not that the food gets better, afterall one cannot improve on perfection, but the new decor compliments the standard of food very well and, in addition, the little "try-outs" bode well for the future menu. Take for example last Monday night. Not only were we presented with our usual tray of dips & popadums (deep fried) but we also had the addition of baked papadums. Tasty is not the word! We were also delighted to try a chick-pea/salad (non spicy) dip, which was refreshing to say the least. Like I said, this was a Monday night and yet Ali had to turn away people asking for tables. Word to the wise - always phone ahead to check if there is availability. Cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding food, outstanding service, and at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This restaurant deserves all the praise it gets. Ok, it might not be the best looking restaurant in the world, but hey, in my experience most of the best ones aren't! The staff are very friendly, polite and attentive. Nothing is a problem. The food is first class. Some of the little touches that make big difference are, lamb that you don't require teeth to eat, Naan bread that isn't oily, and spiced Poppadoms that aren't fried. All this for a very reasonable price too. Starters, mains, desserts and drinks for 2 came to £46. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Heaven on a stick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food was amazing, The service first class.
It is, without doubt the finest Indian food we have ever tasted.
We booked the pre-theatre meal and the value for money coulnt be topped.
Never will we eat anywhere else in Glasgow..
Wish I lived near this restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charcoals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.