We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, intimate with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Number 16

Number 16
16 Byres Road, Glasgow G11 5JY, Scotland
0141 339 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Small, intimate with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Small, intimate with good food. The welcome and the service was pleasant without being effusive. and the food was delicious without being pretentious. It may be small, but that is part of its charm. The food was cooked fresh and beautifully presented. Add the attention of good staff and you have a place to add to the places to visit again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    146
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Birthday meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Good choice in starters and mains. Varied and interesting. Combinations of flavours and textures unusual and all the plates we had were well received. You needed to have extra sides on the pre-theatre because the garnishes and accompaniments, although delicious were not generous portions. We tried all the desserts and they were all disappointing. Sounded great but didn't live up to expectations. The Turkish Delight in particular was bland and the gel tasted of chemicals. Think they were over complicating standard classics. The panna cotta was the best because it was served simply with poached fruit. However because the starters and mains were so good and the service was great and very friendly, we would definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a great wee restaurant in the west end. We have visited several times and have always been delighted by the quality and presentation of the food and excellent customer service. We usually go for the pre-theatre menu which is great value and the pork belly is a particular favourite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's seriously good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked birthday dinner for a very special person with some trepidation. I'm not saying he's picky but he's brutally honest. The food the service the staff the price all impressed me hugely. But what was the highlight is that the evening was voted 'the best main course ever in my life' by the birthday boy. Thank you no 16. I owe you. We will be back again and again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply a great wee restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It looks tiny from outside but more spacious as has upper floor. The menu is impressive and food great. They have great dishes, good quality wines and the service is first class. Try the Armagnac -
it works! Great experience which I will repeat at next opportunity.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.