We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAN'T FAULT IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 16

Number 16
16 Byres Road, Glasgow G11 5JY, Scotland
0141 339 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
renfrewshire , scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“CAN'T FAULT IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Been to this cosy restaurant on a number of occasions , each has been excellent both food , staff service and experience . Cant recommend enough .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    146
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The service was excellent and the food was simple and delicious. We were able to order from the 3-course menu and it was a bargain to boot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked lunch here through the 5pm website. We got a free glass of wine which was really nice. Our meal was lovely and it exceeded my expectations. It was great value for money. The service was good too and we felt well cared for. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, good service & excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This small cosy restaurant served us some great quality food for an excellent price. The pre theatre menu includes a good range of options. I'd recommend a visit if you are in Glasgow and fancy a trip out to the west end

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bizarre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a table after reading reviews on TA. We were told they needed the table back by 7.30 pm which wasn't a problem for us. We arrived 5-10 early and the staff were sitting eating their meal. Another couple arrived two minutes after us. They were shown upstairs to their table and we were seated at the front door. We were given menus after them and about 10 minutes later our order was taken. We ordered our food pâté and trout starters which were excellent, we then had our mains of pork belly and lamb, again both were excellent. Our table was cleared and then nothing, we eventually asked for the dessert menu, after waiting another 10 minutes we decided they didn't want to serve us and asked for the bill instead. On leaving no one said goodnight or goodbye. Shocking treatment and this was three quarters an hour before they wanted the table.

A couple of Japanese girls came in just over half an hour early and we were stunned when they were told they could sit at their table, have a drink and some bread but the wouldn't get served until seven, what kind of way is that to treat customers.

Although the food was excellent I will never go again or recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.