We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Number 16

Number 16
16 Byres Road, Glasgow G11 5JY, Scotland
0141 339 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Glasgow UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We heard good things about this restaurant so we gave it a go, firstly it is very small so not much room, its certainly not cheap either, we are looking at £5.50 starters which are tastey yes, but the portions are very small, I got Lamb as a main £15.00 odd, and they never had any form of mint sauce. Not for me as three starters, 3 mains, one sweet and cheeseboard,2 bottles house wine, £126. Overpriced considering what amounts are in the portions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    146
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another wee gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is pretty tiny. 20 covers downstairs, more (didn't explore) upstairs. Decor rustic: brick walls painted white. With wife and her sister for sister-in-law's 75th birthday. Food was delicious. Chicken was said to be the best she had ever tasted! Starters trout fillet, tomato basil and garlic soup. Mains roast chicken breast, mine was pork belly and my wife had galette with goat's cheese. The chef was reported by our waitress to be excellent and our experience supports her claim. Puff pastry with creme patissiere and strawberries (aka millefeuille) lemon and coconut tart with passion fruit sorbet, sweet potato and almond cake with spiced marscapone and an orange syrup. During our meal the florist delivered the day's flowers, so our waitress replaced the (unwilted) table flowers. This distracted her from providing my tonic water and may have contributed to the delay in serving our side orders of potatoes and courgettes (which unusually I loved). Portion sizes perfect for lunchtime. So . . . once they get their florist to behave himself all will be perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Such interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Unexpectedly high class food. Lovely service and wine in jugs. What else could you ask for? Busy on a Saturday night so I am guessing reserving is the way to go. Soup was exquisite as was the sea bream. Did however make supper when I went home as portion size was elegant and pretty low carb!! Definitely worth a second visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torridon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My partner and I had the a la carte menu which was perfectly balanced and truly delicious . The restaurant is one of the most comfortable and relaxed I've been in the staff are very friendly and attentive . After living in the glasgow area for over 2 years and dinning out a lot this is most definitely the best in town I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our first trip to Glasgow and followed reviews on this restaurant. We were not disappointed the whole experience was first class - service, food and wine excellent and all at a reasonable price. A really friendly place and would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.