We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, delicious lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Number 16

Number 16
16 Byres Road, Glasgow G11 5JY, Scotland
0141 339 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick, delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for lunch and going through their lunch set menu.. so far so good.. The food are tasty and good value for money..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    122
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked through 5pm. On arrival we were offered a choice of wines "included" in the 5pm offer (which was good as sometimes other restaurants try to charge you for this). Also, delicious bread, butter & oils were offered all totally fresh & delicious. I opted for mushroom tagliatelle to start which was lovely & light very tasty and for main had the pork belly (which I would not normally go for but I had a feeling it would be good). Understatement.......pork was melt in the mouth, served with an onion marmalade and a gorgeous serving of stornoway black pudding. For dessert I opted for the sweet potato cake served with mascarpone cheese....omg! Deeeeelish! In fact thed whole meal was deeeeelish! Had another couple of glasses of Shiraz and finished with tea. The waitress was really very attentive and friendly, constantly topping up our glasses with iced water (another nice touch). Small place but really excellent in all aspects. Definitely will go back and also will recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been to Number 16 a few times now and its one of my firm favourites. Lovely food, well presented, beautiful fresh ingrediants, creative and well put together flavours. The staff are very pleasant and unobtrusive and the wine list is good. Would strongly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to eat for any occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent lunch, tagliatelle a lovely starter as was the haddock main course. A great little place at Patrick cross

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice for an evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice and cosy restaurant, attentive staff, nice wine list, open wines are also good, and very good if a bit underwhelming (I came in with great expectations) food. Getting moaned at because we came in 1 person short was a bit offputting even before sitting down, understandable if considering the space, but 3 or 4 would not have allowed sitting anywhere else anyway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.