We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Number 16

Number 16
16 Byres Road, Glasgow G11 5JY, Scotland
0141 339 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have had lunch several times here, and a recent pre-theatre meal. It's all good! Value is excellent on the set menus, the menu is always inventive and the cooking spot-on. Most recently, I had a generous and tasty fishcake starter, and a main of unctuous pork belly which fell apart into the accompanying broth (the latter a little salty for perfection). And yes, I found I did have room for a tarte au citron with passion fruit sorbet, which was deliciously tangy and not too large or heavy to round off the meal pleasantly.
Service is always friendly and helpful, the ambience cosy and informal. Overall it's always a pleasure to eat at Number 16. Back soon!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    122
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in Glasgow on business and this place was found by a colleague. Proved to be a good choice with an interesting menu, good wine options and pleasant atmosphere.
Service was very good as was the food, although the biscuits and cheese was slightly over-priced (in my opinion - and I've had a better variety at many other restaurants). On the plus side, the presentation was nice. Certainly deserves a strong recommendation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked lunch through 5pm last Friday and had 2 courses plus glass of wine for £14 - great value. The gnocchi starter was delicious-lovely light pasta parcels with a creamy leek sauce - perfect start to the meal. I had the coley served with crushed potatoes and my mum had the chicken pie. Both mains were delicious and good sized portions. Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. Perfect start to the weekend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were off to the cinema and decided to eat out and make an evening of it. We had noticed this restaurant before and thought we would pop in. AIthough we did not book, we were given a warm welcome.The restaurant is small and intimate; the mirrors and candles make it so, giving it a good ambience which adds to the dining experience. There is also extra seating upstairs, and you can hear the footfalls above your head, which reminded me of old country hotels, I liked that. The food was excellent, nice portions and very flavoursome. The staff were very polite and friendly but not too much so. We did not have time to linger so we only had two courses. What we did have whetted out appetite, so we will be back to sample more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food but slightly exhausted staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, I really enjoyed the food. Top marks.
Although perhaps it was the fact that our booking was so late (9:30) that all the staff were exhausted and therefore somewhat off-hand. Which spoilt our enjoyment.

Otherwise there's not much to fault it. Perhaps they need to employ some more people?

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.