We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 16

Number 16
16 Byres Road, Glasgow G11 5JY, Scotland
0141 339 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went to this lovely resturant for a family birthday. The staff were very efficent and friendly and the food was great. Will be back

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumberSixteenGlasgow, Public Relations Manager at Number 16, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for providing such positive and kind comments in your Trip Advisor review. We will be more than happy to warmly welcome you back.

We look forward to your next visit to Nö16 Restaurant.

Kindest of regards,

The Nö16 Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    522
    102
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Value Pre Theatre Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The starter of tomato and vegetable soup was very nice, the hake with lentils was a bit too salty but the fish was tasty enough. For mains we had pork belly in red wine sauce which was very good and breast of chicken with root vegetables which was excellent. For dessert the rice pudding with prunes was superb. Everything was well cooked and piping hot. Portion sizes were just about adequate, you have to pay extra for potatoes, which we forgot to order, but we still left feeling satisfied. The service was friendly though there was a fairly long wait for the food to arrive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumberSixteenGlasgow, Public Relations Manager at Number 16, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review on Nö16 Restaurant to Trip Advisor. We are more than glad that you left Nö16 Restaurant satisfied with both the quality of the food served and the friendliness of service that you received.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Nö16 Restaurant sometime soon.

With our warmest regards,

The Nö16 Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pleasurable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

Visited number 16 a few weeks ago. It had a great ambience and the service was excellent. To be honest I can't really remember what I had to eat although it tasted splendid. We were splitting the bill which essentially means i had to have 5 courses. The dessert, which i purchased following the recommendation of the bubbly waiter was especially good, it caused my mouth to have a party!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A very pleasant introduction to fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

From the starter Roast Pumkin Salad, the main Roasted Breast of Chicken and a shared Sticky Toffee Pudding this my first trip to a fine dining restaurant will not be forgotten. All the food superbly cooked and well presented and very tasty. Also the fresh bread roll and the piece of Shortbread with Coffee made the experience very enjoyable. Thanks for a great lunch and will be recommending you

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A West End Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Popular with locals this restaurant continues to provide quality food with great service in comfortable surroundings. Seating around 40 people it is always best to book a table in advance.

My three course dinner was very enjoyable and was selected from a diverse, uncomplicated menu that had been given some imagination in its preparation. The wine list is not too lengthy and the prices range from £14.95 -£34.95. The champagne is reasonable and Tattinger comes in at £38.00 per bottle.

Always an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.