We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Enoch Hotel to your Saves list
St. Enoch Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Howard St., St. Enoch Square, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
scotland uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

On first impressions this hotel looks ok,though a bit dated, the staff were very friendly and helpful enough, on ascending the winding staircase leading to the bedrooms, it is noted the place could do with a good lick of paint. Entering one of the two rooms we booked room 25 the first thing that strikes you is the floor is uneven, the beds have been moved from their original positions, with the headboards still in original positions.

On entering the toilet/shower room discovered the sink was leaking, on mentioning to staff they placed a towel on it till the morning (and someone had a chance to look at it). The silicone is very tatty and grubby looking, which i was assured was being dealt with, and all the rooms were being upgraded with new silicone !! The heater also was not working.

On finding so many faults with the room, the plus side was the bed was fairly new, the bedding was clean. On lifting tthe bed to check under i very much doubt if the room has seen a hoover since start of year, as lots of crumbs and empty cartons were underneath.

Room 26 did fare slightly better in respect of the shower was only silicone tatty, though you had to fiddle with it to make it work. The floor again was quite uneven, and there was quite a large gap in the bottom of the door.

In the morning we awakened to breakfast (a brown bag with rice krispies, half litre of milk, plastic bowl and spoon, and a small carton of juice) along with the bedding for the next occupants of the room sitting on the floor at the door (not very hygienic).

All in all the hotel was cheap £42 for two people for one night,but not the kind of place you could spend any longer in. The friendly and helpful staff were this hotels only saving grace !!!

Room Tip: A budget hotel with no airs and graces. Pay a bit more and go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    44
    29
    75
See reviews for
12
46
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I needed a place to stay for one night as I arrived from Dublin and was on my way to start a motorcoach tour that left out of Glasgow. The guy driving the bus I picked up from the airport was very friendly and helped me figure out which direction to walk when I got off the bus but I was VERY glad that I didn't have to walk that area at night. My room was tiny and had three sets of bunk beds in it. At first I wondered where the bathroom was but then figured out that it was in the corner and a bunk bed was infront of it! The bathroom door could only be opened about a foot because it hit the bunk that I was on (see photos). There was also a large armoire, desk and tea setup (with tea, milk, biscuits). When I looked out our window, I saw right into a bus as there was a bus stop outside the window (see photos). The whole place was an absolute joke and I was very glad I only spent one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked in here for a few hours sleep between flight/trains. Central location. Very friendly staff on reception. Room was very tatty, but had everything one needed for such a short stay. Bedding was clean and towels provided.
Bad: shower leaked and so floor of bathroom (more of a small cupboard) was always wet.
Single glazed windows, so traffic noise into night.
Overall, it did what I needed it for, a cheap place (£25 for a double room) for sleep. I wouldn't have wanted to hang around any longer. This is adequate as a rough and ready place for budget travellers and stag do's but if you're on holiday spent a few quid for something nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very run down, bathroom door wouldnt close half the time, water was far too hot, shower enclosure amm black round edges and scrren door disnt close iver. There was a hole in floor under carpet. On plus side clean bedding, clean towels very central and staff were friendly. Breakfast was a brown paper bag with rice crispies and plastic bowl and spoon small carton of milk and orange juice! I have stayed in budget hotels in glasgow before but not like this! Won't return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel was ok for an overnight bed when you been out for the night. ok used to be a homeless hostel and do not think they even gave it a lick of paint since. room was slopped .was small with a double bed crammed in , little touches like clean towels , shampoo , coffee , tea , biscuits , room had kettle and tv.. would stay again as very well located right behind the st enoch,s center so ideal location. hint to management spruce up the decor and you will have a little gem.

Room Tip: try and get a low number room as they are no lifts and not ideal for wheelchair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecclefechan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel has been slated in the past ,this is my second visit and cannot fault this hotel at all yes it is basic but £25 a night with breakfast come on what do you get for that? clean sheets friendly staff tea ,coffee ,en suite shower/toilet you get my vote and only 10min walk from the station thankyou for a pleasent stay see you soon .....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Me and 3 friends stayed here last night hotel clean and had everything we needed staff were great very friendly & would do anything to help hotel close to all amenities excellent location we are all going back as we enjoyed our stay and the location & hotel is very cheap

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Address: 44 Howard St., St. Enoch Square, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Enoch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.