We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Enoch Hotel to your Saves list
St. Enoch Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Howard St., St. Enoch Square, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked this late on and was trying to keep costs to a minimum. Firstly, the positives. The location is good, being a 5 minute walk from Central station and a stone's throw from an underground station. The room was very basic but the bed was nice and comfortable.

Negatives. The toilet made a ghastly noise when flushed and this obviously wasn't the only room to have this judging by the sounds from elsewhere. The shower worked but the temperature went all the way from freezing to merely cold. Not good in November.

You can get away with this if you're on a football trip and will spend the shortest amount of time possible in the room. Otherwise, pay a bit more.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    35
    27
    66
See reviews for
12
37
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was surprised at the quality of the hotel - at £25 a night I got a family room for single occupancy (a comfy double bed all to myself with 4 pillows and all), I stayed 2 nights as I was flat hunting and needed something cheap and simple.
Location is SUPERB! If you need easy access to city centre, this is the place to go! It's literally 5 minutes from central station and St.Enoch subway station is just across the street, there's a bus stop in front of the building.
they have free wi-fi throughout, even though the rooms are very basic (not much storage space), they're ok. The cleanliness can be argued - I found a fake fingernail next to the bed, plus regular signs of wear and tear, shower wasn't cleaned very thoroughly (water/soap marks on the glass). The room didn't have curtains and the blinds were not that helpful, but since I was tired, I didn't mind much.
As a woman, I'd prefer the room to have a hair dryer, but for a few nights I managed fine.
The bathroom was tilted, which I found funny :)

Other than that, the reception staff were very helpful and there was a breakfast package left outside the door (cornflakes + milk and juice).

Due to the amazing location, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, especially for that price. Very good value for money if you're not fussy and need a place to crash in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends after a night out in Glasgow. Very, very basic rooms. Our room had 3 sets of bunk beds, a wardrobe, small table and a TV. Bedding was clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable, the toilet was also clean but I wouldn't have used the shower.

In the morning we found 3 brown paper bags outside the room with cornflakes, paper bowl, spoon, milk and apple juice inside. Felt like we were back at Brownie Camp! I really can't complain as it was just what we needed. However next time, I'd rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere less basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very Central, comfortable bed,Very cheap, the most basic hotel that we have ever used, window right above kebab shop,smell was pleasant enough, but over powering, the reception guy was very helpfull, floor sloped to the left. no furniture, un beknown to us but little bag of cornflakes,milk,juice,plastic bowl,and spoon left outside door at 7 in the morning. No real house keeping, bin was emptied every day, used same towels for 3 days.bed was not made up. If stuck would use again,BUT, would scour Glasgow for an alternative first. Taxi driver had A lot of negative comments about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed here over the weekend,very clean and the bed was better than at home!!

only downside was stayed on top floor and no lift.

would definitely stay there again, so handy to station ,shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Last minute booking due to business meeting running over. Was fairly reticent anyway because of the price (£35 B&B). Should have been a warning as this place is no better than a YMCA Hostel. I was going out for a meal and some drinks with colleagues so I decided that since the bedding looked clean and a lock was on the door, I would put up with the spartan conditions - that and a hot shower in the morning.
More fool me. The shower was an old Mira unit and the temperature control thread was stripped making it impossible to gain access to anything other than freezing cold water. I was happy to just get away to be honest and despite my protests at reception all I got in return was a explanation of a " crap maintenance man" no apology and most of all not even the offer of any compensation.
I would urge anyone to stay well clear of this "hotel" and sleep in the car in the adjacent multi-story for a better nights kip.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We normally stay nearby to this hotel when staying in Glasgow. But Glasgow was all but sold out. So we decided to try the St Enoch Hotel. For a budget hotel, we were well pleased with everything inside the building. Shame about the loudmouth locals outside. But the hotel will give us a room away from the main road if we ask them next time. As we were a last minute booking we had to take what was available. We would highly recommend this as an overnight stay. So close to the City Centre and the to the mains Railway stations.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Address: 44 Howard St., St. Enoch Square, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Enoch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.