We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant meal in lovley surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar & Brasserie

Urban Bar & Brasserie
23-25 St.Vincent Place, Glasgow G1 2DT, Scotland (City Centre)
01412485636
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Urban Bar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #189 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $43 - $60
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: Buchanan St, Queens Street Station and Central Station
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal in lovley surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Recently had a fabulous Christmas meal here with friends. Menu was excellent with plenty of choice, we all thoroughly enjoyed our choices. Service was were excellent, everyone that waited on our table was totally professional. Only down was it was maybe a little too dark and the paper table covers were a bit disappointing, a bit lacking in class. Bar area is also good for a drink before or after your meal. A great location for a night out in Glasgow and truly worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    160
    115
    33
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“How NOT to do Customer Service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We chose Urban for our annual family Christmas lunch. We arrirved to a quite lack luster maitre'd. We were shown to our table and told " we need this table back for 3 o'clock ", yes I was told that when we Iooked I explained. The waiting staff were so miserable, I felt so dissapointed that we had chosen Urban for our annual event. Whilst I appreciate Urban isn't really geared for children, I really didn't feel any warmth toward our 2 boys aged 9 and 11. Our main courses arrived and we then had to wait around five minutes for our boys meals to arrive. Our food was therefore tepid by the time we started without any apology. Food was pretty good but the entire experience was spoiled by the service. I didn't see one member of staff who looked happy, enthusiastic or customer focused. I won't be back, what a pity as this place has real potential but the management have something really wrong here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great city centre restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Have eaten there twice in the last two weeks. Benefits from a great location just off Buchanan St. Impeccable service from friendly and efficient staff, and beautifully presented food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Christmas night out - Couldnt really fault it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Booked Christmas dinner for 10 at £35 a head. Food was good, service was sharp if a bit rushed but it was busy. Only draw back was we were split over 2 tables but I had been told this. Good value for a Christmas lunch and would go back. Not sure about paper table cloths though - Its a bit more upmarket than that really but It was a lovely place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and have been very pleased with the food. The "front -of-house" staff are always friendly and professional as they were again last night. The food,however, was extremely disappointing.
Two of our party had a starter which they described as fine. Then all four of us had Game Pie served with Buttery Mashed Potato and Seasonal Vegetables. The "Game Pie" turned out to be served in the style of a Sheperd's or Cottage Pie with a thin unbuttery layerof mashed potato served on top of large lumps of indeterminate meat which we could not identify from taste. We assume they were venison pheasant and ??. The meat was tough, and lacked any real flavour.

The ladies then had dessert. Blackcurrant Steamed Sponge with Vanilla Custard, for one and Gingerbread Ice-cream and Meringue with Butterscotch Sauce for the other member of the party. The Sponge was leaden and again lacking any flavour, whilst the "custard" bore a strong resemblance to warm single cream over which a vanilla pod had wandered.

This level of cuisine is well below the standard we expected and resultingly I feel the need to comment. Why did we not complain at the time? I did when asked about my dessert, which to be fair was not charged on the bill. I also commented that the "Game Pie" was not really a pie, but a Cottage Pie. Had it been succulent and flavoursome its description would not really have mattered. It was anything but.

Look to your laurels!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Urban Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.