We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pukka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar & Brasserie

Urban Bar & Brasserie
23-25 St.Vincent Place, Glasgow G1 2DT, Scotland (City Centre)
01412485636
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Urban Bar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $53
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: Buchanan St, Queens Street Station and Central Station
Glasgow
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very Pukka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This Grand stylish restaurant is located a stones throw from George Square. We ate on their pre theatre menu at £13.95 for two courses and a glass of house wine. The selection on the menu was limited but I think there was something there for all tastes, the portions were acceptable for the price paid and were nicely presented and cooked. The service could not be faulted and the two restaurant managers obviously run a tight ship heading an army of efficient but friendly servers. All in all a good city centre establishment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    160
    42
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food but on the expensive side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friday afternoon lunch, got there 12.30pm, and it was quiet but getting busy, worth reserving a table as we did. Had there signature fish soup, which is excellent and my favorite, but starting to feel a bit ripped off at close to £10, then a fish and prawn dish wrapped in a paper bag for want of a better description at close to £18, side dishes extra which would take it above £20. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the experience. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly as always.
You can eat from a less expensive lunch menu so I guess it was my choice to go from the Al a carte menu but it may be worth there reconsidering the cost of the Ala carte menu at lunch time, a 25% discount at lunchtime may be encouraging to regulars who know what they like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Been here a few times, good atmosphere. Went recently with an Itison voucher - really good value. Food is lovely and service is very good. Would definitely recommend, is in a good location in Glasgow.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently celebrated my 50th Birthday dinner at Urban Bar & Brasserie. What a fabulous night. The staff were very helpful and provided excellent service throughout the evening. Very attentive at all times.
The restaurant provided a quiet area where my family enjoyed a great night.
Presentation of the tables were of a very high standard. The food was excellent.

I have visited the restaurant on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.
A BIG THANKS to Jim and all the staff for a great night!

i would highly recommend Urban Bar & Brasserie.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My partner had purchased a "Private Dining Experience" voucher for a party of ten, and we went along last night to celebrate her eldest's graduation. Although the private dining room was booked, management were happy to accommodate the party in the main restaurant. And what a job they did!

We were seated at a long table out of the traffic flow and from the word go, received truly excellent service from all the staff. Canapes were delivered as party members arrived (in dribs and drabs, just to make things more awkward for staff - not a problem!) and meal orders taken once everyone had settled in. Although it was a set menu, there was a good choice for each course - four dishes per course - and the quality of the food was excellent (if you haven't had Urban's chips, put it at the top of your "to do" list!) Portions were generous, everyone got exactly what they wanted and the steaks were all cooked to perfection.

Desserts followed - the gingerbread icecream was fabulous - and after that, a VERY generous cheeseboard. Coffees came along too, and wine and prosecco were delivered throughout the meal.

I can't recommend it highly enough. Fantastic service, very well prepared and generously portioned food, wonderful ambience and perfect city centre location. They deserve huge praise for what they delivered last night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Urban Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.