We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice wee place which places importance on good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wee Lochan

Wee Lochan
340 Crow Road, Glasgow G11 7HT, Scotland
0141 338 6606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $27 - $80
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Wee Lochan is a happy, friendly restaurant serving delicious food at an affordable price. There are fish dishes, meat dishes and a vegetarian option on every menu. Come and say hello...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A nice wee place which places importance on good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've been to Wee Lochan a few times for lunch and have always found the staff very pleasant and efficient, and the food excellent, and at very sensible prices for good quality. If I had any cause for complaint it would be some of the decor, and in particular the toilet facilities. But with that said, I live in the south side of Glasgow and I wish it was closer, because the positive attributes are good enough to make me want to return again some time soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    201
    50
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish it was on the south side!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We decided to visit after reading good reviews on trip adviser and we were not disappointed. Went on a busy sat night and we were lucky to get a table. Had starters of Cullen skink and the twice baked goats cheese souffle. Both were good although there could have been more flavour to the souffle. We waited 30 to 40 minutes for the mains but weren't disappointed when they arrived. Monkfish wrapped in Parma Ham and seabass with potatoes and fennel- both were delicious and a perfect portion size. We shared a cheeseboard which could have been bigger but had a lovely stinky blue which we love! Wine was reasonably priced and we were enjoying the atmosphere do much we had a second bottle. Service was good and just the right amount of attention. Only complaint is that it is in the west end - the south side is crying out for a place like this!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AislaJ, Owner at Wee Lochan, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Julie,
Glad you had a good time at Wee LOCHAN - will check seasoning on souffle!. Regarding the Southside - we like IAN Brown in Giffnock.... Delicious food, nice atmosphere, well priced...

( only for the days you don't want to travel of course!)

Kind regards

Aisla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle040710
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

what a wonderful, charming place this is . The service and food - 1st class. I absolutely recommend this place. You will not be disappointed - very up and coming. thanks to all at wee lochan.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to Me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

As the title says - went for my birthday and had a lovely time.

The place was full and the staff were very busy but attentive and professional.

The food was very good indeed. Delicious starters and seafood mains beautifully cooked.

The atmosphere on a lovely summer evening was perfect but I am sure it will be just as good when the nights draw in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have been here a few times and have had delicious, well presented food every time. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Lochan also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Wee Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wee Lochan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.