We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne Hotel to your Saves list
Lorne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed here before and decided to book another overnight stay last Sunday night. Again we were delighted with our stay.The staff were very pleasant. The room we had 325 was immaculate, the bathroom actually sparkled it was so clean. Our meal in the restaurant was amazing, certainly wasn't skimped on with us being on a Today's Great Deal for £79 for two of us, we even had crackers and a party box on the table. Our waitress was very attentive and polite and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our buffet breakfast in the morning was one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel. We will most certainly be back and would not hesitate in recommending the hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: probably 3rd floor or above incase of noise from below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    132
    82
    37
    70
See reviews for
23
191
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stay in hotels for weekend breaks with my wife on a regular basis and without doubt this is one of the best I have stayed in for several years. We stayed on 13/12/14 and The reception staff were excellent and very professional in their customer relations and presentation. The room was very modern,a little small but well furnished and immaculate. The bar area and staff were way above normal hotel standards and the restaurant was in my opinion the best Indian meal I have tasted. The hotel deserves a 4 star rating.
My complements to the management on all of their staff they are a credit to the hotel.
My wife and I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The receptionist HAZEL at this hotel was so rude to myself and my partner! After being offered late check out we phoned to confirm and the lady said we were unable to get it anymore and was unable to justify why we had been given incorrect information she decided to hang the phone up on us! After calling back several times she came up to the room pointing her finger in my face and talking loudly and over me that she then said I was being rude and told my partner and I to leave!!!!! At the busiest time of year we were left on the streets and finally found a hotel a few hours later at about 6am! Being well respected individuals we made a letter of complaint asking for a refund and after an investigation was carried out the staff did not only exaggerate how we acted but also lied about how they treated us! If the staff are dishonest about this then I am not confident this is a trust worthy hotel in the slightest! Very disgusted in the behaviour on the night, our experience and the outcome! We will never ever stay here!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a business trip which was paid for by my company. To be honest, if I had booked and paid for this myself I would have been disappointed. My room was not over spacious and the wardrobe and bed met together at one point which meant you had to shimmy sideways past them. Decor was in need of rejuvenation and most annoyingly the bed squeaked.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here last Saturday for my girlfriend's birthday and on arriving, we were impressed as the place looked impressive and modern.

The room looked fine though we noticed a kind of sewage smell near the bathroom which was there for the duration of our stay.

We came back late Saturday night to find extremely loud music coming from below us. It must have been a karaoke night at the pub below. We were able to get to sleep despite this but after the music stopped the real problems began. For several hours there was loud banging noises as the pub below were clearing up. This was really annoying as you can imagine.

Bottom line is, if you want a good nights sleep then avoid this hotel especially room 210.

The hotel never bothered to respond to my comments online.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Lorne a heap of times over the past year or so. That is testament to the service you receive. Rooms aren't massive but when you are in Glasgow you shouldn't be spending too much time locked up inside.

Always clean, food down in the restaurant is excellent and the bar staff who are strangely mostly Eastern European are very pleasant to chat to.

Can't fault it really for the price, will be back in the near future no doubt!

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a one night stay here recently which I managed to bag at a cheaper rate than Travelodges in the area. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous, the room was cosy, clean and modern and had a very comfy bed, the hotel isn't in the city centre but is a 20 minute walk in which takes you through an area of pleasant bars and restaurants. The staff were a massive compliment to this place and couldnt do enough to help, I shall definitely look at returning!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service where you will enjoy your experiance by leaving feeling that you had received4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.