We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody great - service and care!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne Hotel to your Saves list
Lorne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bloody great - service and care!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Service, care, hygiene are key elements of my reviews. Back in Glasgow at a busy time of year for really challenging family issue (illness). Found the Lorne hotel - staff amazingly helpful (Audrey and Veronica especially). Room great, service great, cleanliness good. But the genuine care and help I received was OUTSTANDING!! Future return visits to the city of my birth will have me stay there.... It's always all about service and they have excelled here!!
It's also near the best style and gastro pubs in Britain (better than London!)

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    147
    93
    41
    69
See reviews for
24
221
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice place, clean and still looks new, I thought the price of drink was expensive but I've been told its about the normal price for a city center hotel, had steak and chips for lunch and was probably 1 of the best steaks I've ever had, and I've had lots of steaks, even the chips were delicious, fine and near the new sse hydrodome for concert goers, also nice freindly staff who were willing to help at all times, wish I stayed for 2 nights now ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a party of 5 we visited the Indian Restaurant at The Lorne Hotel for a Christmas Night out.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We had a few drinks at the bar before we went through for our meal. The price of drinks was about average for a City Centre Hotel. Lovely cocktails and lovely atmosphere . The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the staff very attentive. The Restaurant manager made sure we had everything we needed and we were not rushed at all throughout our meal, in fact we were at our table for about 4 hours . I would definitely recommend this restaurant . The bar had a DJ on and he was really good, not too noisy so you could still have a conversation without shouting. So we would just like to say a big thank you to the Restaurant manager and all the staff for making our Christmas night out very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel was fine, nothing to rave about. Rooms were compact, but had all the essentials needed. We had to be asked to move from our original room as it was stinking of gloss and not to mention it was freezing and the heating didn't work. The manager was great and moved us no problem.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay in this hotel. It's really stunning, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, couldn't have asked for any more. Would recommend to anyone visiting Glasgow or just looking fr an overnight stay away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was absolutely brilliant for start to finish. The reception staff were amazing and so helpful, they phoned a taxi for us for our night out which arrived so quickly and was clean. The rooms were lovely with fresh bed linen and towels. The room was so clean and big. The TV had free-view channels. The room was just overall amazing and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W dunbartonshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

4 of us stayed here for one night after Rod Stewart Concert. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but freshly decorated and clean. Also tea/coffee included. We ate in the restaurant because we read good reviews about the food and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious as was the Breakfast the following morning. . Again staff very attentive. The Bar was lovely and comfortable and cocktails were some of the best we have had in Glasgow. Prices were also reasonable for the City. We will definitely use this Hotel again as it is only a short walk from the Hydro and some lovely pubs and restaurants in the West End.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service where you will enjoy your experiance by leaving feeling that you had received4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.