We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double booked” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne Hotel to your Saves list
Lorne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“double booked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was booked to stay at the Lorne in September 2012. Like many reviewers, I arrived to find that the hotel had no record of my booking or that of my colleague even though it was a business trip reserved by credit card. My suspicions that this was not a lone mistake was confirmed by the fact that a large number of other people in reception were also without rooms. As some other colleagues were booked in the following evening, I checked that they were booked. It was confirmed that their booking had been received (which was odd as they were all make at the same time and reserved together). However, by the following evening, their booking had disappeared too. After much negotiation, the hotel did help us to find alternative accommodation as we were not local to Glasgow. it was very frightening to be effectively on the streets looking for a hotel in an unfamiliar city. From the reviews, it does sound as if most rooms are nice if you are lucky enough for the hotel to actually book you one. My own experience was something of a nightmare. Don't stay here if you want to be sure of a hotel with a booking system that works.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    147
    93
    41
    69
See reviews for
24
221
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanerchymedd, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we had a very good weekend at this hotel ,the room was lovely and big and the bathroom was nice the staff was friendly the breakfast was good ,enough of everything you wanted and more .the bars around the area was good very central so you cant complain about the hotel would stay here again had room 417 was very happy at staying here thanks to all the staff for our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Lorne last week we had been here before for a function and thought it was lovely until we got to our room....

we were given rom 341 when we got to the floor everything looked nice then we got to the room flat screen tv, comfy bed and clean but very basic. once we returned from diner they're was someone in one of the other rooms that had decided to smoke some weed lovely... so much for smoke detectors as we couldnt smell it in the room and were only staying one night we didnt mention anything.. as we began to chill out for bed we heard a banging noise from outside and it was the air con unit which continued through the night on a very regular basis but we could live with it. then at around 4am we were woken by foreign gentleman talking through the wall this continued for a good couple of hours what ever happened to the sound proofing in this hotel room must have been spent on the lounge because there is very little or none at all we then tried to call reception to see if they could send someone to maybe ask the gentleman to quieten down but the phone didnt work. due to the time it was i wasnt going to recepetion to complain afterall we shouldn't have to. so we then decided to try and drown it out to put some music on quietly to draw our attention away from the noise. at around 6am they decided to call it a night and whoever was in the room with him came out the room and kindly slammed the door behind them. We eventually got a couple of hours sleep.

we headed to breakfast in the morning that was really nice and plenty to choose from.

when we had checked out we didnt mention anything what was done was done i wanted to get home to rest. we liked the hotel but these little things let it down.

i work selling soundproofing and def dont think this room (not saying they are all like this) would meet to reg's if tested with someone talking through a wall it should not travel as bad as what it did especially in a hotel.

as you can see from my other reviews i dont complain but just to highlight these issues to people who are planning to stay to take them on board. it is a nice hotel but sleep is part of why you decide to stay, Not because of the fancy reception, bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: if you have any issue's address it you are paying for it after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December 2012 what a nightmare, the rooms smelled of sewerage, the beds were broken and when we asked to be moved they moved us to a room with a broken bed, broken window, broken draws and marginally less smelly! As we were on a coach trip we have complained to the company however 4 months later the Lorne hotel flat out refuse to acknowledge our complaints. I can only presume there is another Lorne hotel in Glasgow which has got good reviews because it certainly wasn't the one we stayed at!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had stayed here years ago but had never been a resident again since it has reopened under its new ownership - so was I happy ??

Room was excellent and I had booked through an online site at a good deal, booked as a single but was given a double room with on suite facilities and nice TV etc. Thing I really liked was I had booked online and had prepaid, now I have done this before with other hotels who still then insist on checking and swiping the credit/debit card, this hotel did not and actually asked if I wanted a tab set up. Reception staff at all times very helpful and buffet breakfast very good with lots of options.

So. yes I was happy with what I got and would book this place again.

Room Tip: A wee bit more noise at the front, but ok when windows are closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion its the worst hotel ever you have broken mirror and marks in the wall bad bed, What i can say also???
do not come to this Hotel, In general Not Clean, it is bad very bad, i cant say yes its good because alot of people not only me complain about this hotel..

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckie
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned to from a visit from the Lorne Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The room we were given was clean and comfortable (and I am exceptionally fussy about cleanliness),the shower was good and the towels were nice and fluffy. It was quiet and peaceful and we slept really well. The staff we met were friendly and helpful and appeared to be genuinely keen to see that customers were happy with their stay.We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on that.
One small gripe- It might be better if all the mattresses were covered with protectors to maintain their good condition and reassure guests that the beds are clean.

Room Tip: Room 116 is situated at the back of the building and is lovely and quiet. It ensured a really peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service where you will enjoy your experiance by leaving feeling that you had received4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.