We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Hotel to your Saves list
Acorn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Really poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel false advertised a room. They then blamed lateroom.com who then blamed the hotel.ruined my girlfriends planned birthday night out would never recommend this place. Communication made me feel embarrassed really let down

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    104
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
105
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A fantastic little hotel opposite kelvingrove park , neil who runs it is a real asset to the company with his genuine friendly and helpful attitude .
A real pleasure to stay here and will definitely stay here when we visit my sister again

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a business trip for 2 nights and will definitely be back. Room was a good size and the bed comfortable. Bathroom was clean and modern with a great shower - first hotel I've been in to provide hair dryer and straighteners. Joe seemed to do everything and was fab - booked me in, carried my bags, cooked breakfast, helped with directions, booked taxis and was just so friendly. Breakfast was good as was the location and within walking distance of the centre and shops etc. The only downside to my trip was that my room was on the ground floor and there was a bar next door which was quite noisy on the Thursday night - didn't notice it on the Wednesday night though. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night as its within walking distance of the Hydro where we were going to a concert. The hotel was very clean, peaceful and tastefully decorated. Don't let the exterior of the hotel put you off as the rooms are very pleasant. The room was well equipped and the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind remarks, they are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights from 5/04 to 08/04....reception staff were superb giving us great directions to Loch Lomond...room was bright and airy...spotlessly clean...plenty warm enough...we will be in Glasgow again visiting and will definitly use The Acorn again

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind remarks, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here over the Easter weekend and I was pleasantly surprised the rooms where so modern and extremely cosy the rare find bonus for me was the ghd straighteners I mean what a luxury considering I was the one to bring the straighteners from our group and forgot! It's within short walking distance to loads and I mean loads of different bars restaurants and plenty of places to shop for whatever takes your fancy, also the hydro is about 10/15 mins walk and can tell you the McDonald's on the way back with a few drinks in us was a godsend! And the breakfast cooked by joe I believe was his name was superb such a welcoming attitude by this member of staff throughout our stay baring in mind he seems to be manning the hotel alone reception cooking etc, I would stay here again in a second anyone would be surprised but this wee hidden treasure loved it!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind remarks, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a good 2-night stay. We were two female friends travelling. Nice spacious room. Thank you so much for helping us by printing our boarding passes last minute. Only flaw was that the shower was barely warm, both days.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.