We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Hotel to your Saves list
Acorn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A little late to review this hotel, stayed here for one night in last Jan. A small lovely hotel off Sauchiehall street. Well appointed rooms,brilliant location, really friendly and helpful staff and overall superb value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    104
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
105
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading a few of the previous reviews we felt slightly apprehensive about booking a night at The Acorn. But, we were pleasantly surprised and our experience could not have been any more different from some of the earlier reviewers.

From a very warm and friendly welcome from the ubiquitous Terry, right through to our departure this morning we could find very little to fault. We stayed in room 5 which was cosy, clean and well-equipped with tea and coffee and plenty of biscuits. The shower was luxurious and, despite previous complaints on Tripadvisor, there were copious amounts of hot water and water-pressure.

The bed was comfy and the pillows were the sort of memory-foam type and very very nice to use.

As for the breakfast, we wanted everything barr the meat and we weren't at all disappointed. It was more than adequate with perfectly cooked eggs and quality beans - not your watery own-brand stuff. All cooked to perfection by that man Terry.

We'll definitely be back here, especially as it's perfectly located for both the city-centre and the west-end. And all for a great price.

Nice one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at the Acorn in December, one of the coldest days I've experienced. And it wasn't particularly cold for Glasgow!
Finding the Acorn wasn't easy, my SatNav wanted to take me down one way streets the wrong way. Eventually I rang the Hotel and got directions. In the dark it's not easy to find something even across the road!
My room, which was on the ground floor, at the front, was nice enough, and all seemed well.
I had an early start and finding that location wasn't going to be easy either, so I went to bed (what else is to do in a hotel room- there's only a bed).
The TV works OK, up to date interactive TV. So far so good.
The room however was above what I thought was a ground floor flat next door, but it turned out to be the bar of the Hotel, and of all kinds of music to come through the floor, perhaps the worst is Drum and Bass! This went on into the early hours.
Have I mentioned the pillows? Hard as nails. TAKE YOUR OWN!
OK so we've got through the night, no sleep, but at least there's breakfast.
The Hotel seems to be run by one man, so if you can't find him....
He also does the breakfast, and you need an early departure, allow extra time. He's not a chef.
In conclusion. Would I stay there again. No. It's part of a chain McQuade Hotels, and it looks very nice, but people make pleasant stays and it's understaffed. I also find that Character conversions, Georgian or Victorian, don't convert very well, rooms are often funny sizes or are noisy and cold (big windows). Or both.

Room Tip: I'm telling you to avoid the first floor, but there's no lift, so if you have heavy baggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed two nights. First night we were in room 1, which was good - hot shower, clean and comfortable. However, the second night we were allocated room 2 but requested to be moved as it stank of blocked drains. Room 5 unfortunately wasn't much better but it was late and we were exasperated. Found a big onion ring down the side of the bed (it wasn't ours), the shower and room were FREEZING and having requested to use the phone, the receptionist couldn't figure out how to turn it on to dial an outside line....
All in all, we were quite disappointed. The hotel has potential but it isn't being met due to poor room standards and the staff, who were not very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay in room one, otherwise, don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at The Acorn. Your first night was booked in advance, you checked out the next morning with no problems. However you then returned that night about 7pm, as a walk in, you were informed that the rooms may be cold as we do not preheat rooms that have not been booked in advance. When you complained about a smell in the room you were immediately moved to another room, again the heating would not have been on. When you requested to have the phone switched on, this was complied with, however you did not advise reception that you had been unable to complete your phone call, had you done so this would have been investigated at the time. We apologise for the lapse in our normal cleaning standards, this is not our usual practice. The Manager on duty did speak to you before you checked out and asked if everything had been all right,you replied that everything was fine, so we are a bit bemused to find this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Acorn Hotel was our first stop in Glasgow & have to say, wouldn't stay there again

We arrived early - having just gotten off the plane & they were nice to stow our luggage until check in. What they neglected to tell me however, was that neighborhood parking was all metered & it's a teeny tiny box at the corner where you pay - there was no signage.... but the hotel sold a £2 parking pass - which I was not offered

Well, we never saw the meter box so guess who got a parking ticket! ME! Nothing like a £30 welcome to Scotland....

It was an unusually sweltering hot few days & the hotel has no A/C. There are no lifts & no one offered to help me w/ luggage so I alone schlepped my & my parent's luggage up 3 flights of stairs... while they watched

Enter the room & the blinds had been left wide open - allowing the baking sun to heat up the rooms even more - gggggreat

Only a bath towel was provided - no wash cloth or hand towel..... or soap.

My bed slanted to 1 side & in combination w/ the heat, it was a struggle to sleep, given the windows only opened a crack

Oh yeah, and let's not forget the noise. You're right beside Kelvingrove Park which is right beside Glasgow University - think drunken kids yelling & cavorting all night

Only saving grace about the place was that they had free WiFi and the fact we were near the bus stop.....the hotel is far away from most sites so be prepared to take public transportation.....because you'll *never* find parking if you try to drive

So if staying in Glasgow for a period of time? I'd recommend finding something a bit more central w/ staff who will take care of us newbie tourists

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
First of all we are at a loss to understand why you are reviewing the hotel now (Jan13) when it would appear you actually stayed in October, it makes it very difficult to respond when so much time has passed.
However, with regard to the parking, the on street parking around the hotel and Glasgow in general is run by Glasgow City Council, we have no control over it or the signage etc. There are plenty of signs around telling you the restrictions and where the meters are. The onus is on the drivers to make sure they are legally parked. At reception there is a sign on the desk headed CAR PARKING in large letters which advises guests they can purchase parking vouchers and the relevant cost, alternatively if you had asked the receptionist about parking they would also have given you the relevant information, we cannot ask every guest "are you in a car".
No the hotel does not have A/C, Glasgow is not noted for having weather which would neccessitate having it as standard, however all our windows can be opened for fresh air. Although there were some nice days in October none of them could have been called unusually sweltering, our blinds are usually halfway up/down as standard, this is the first time we can recall having a complaint regarding how the blinds are left.
With regard to the comment about being next to Kelvingrove Park and University resulting in drunken kids creating noise all night, yes we are next to the edge of the Park furthest from the University, between us and the end of the park is quite a large private garden space which can only be accessed using a key code on the gate and is always quiet, this is a very quiet area we do not commonly have any noise or problems in that regard, it could have been people passing through which obviously we have no control over.
You state the hotel is far away from everything, it is in the Charing Cross/Park area to the west of the city centre, Sauchiehall Street (the main shopping street in Glasgow) is 50yards away, a 15 min walk takes you down into the centre of the city, 15 mins in the other direction takes you to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum(one of the most visited attractions in the city) and the Kelvin Hall Sports Arena. Byres Rd one of the main shopping streets in the West End is a further 5 mins along, all within walking distance, the hop on hop off tour bus runs along Sauchiehall Street and the nearest stop is 5mins from the hotel, apart from being smack bang in the middle of George Square you cannot get much nearer the amenities, attractions etc.

There is a soap dispenser beside each sink and shampoo/body wash in each shower.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but wish you well in future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was suprised to find there are no elevators in this hotel so I had to drag my suitcase up 2 floors of a steep staircase. If you have heavy luggage, this is not the place to stay. Also, there was no hot water for a shower; in fact is was freezing cold not even tepid. Also, there was very limited or no heat in the room during the day and only a modest amount of heat at night. I guess they are economizing and saving eneregy but it doesn't make for a very comfortable stay. I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor and take a shower by 7 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The hotel is located in a 1 & 2nd floor Listed Building, we could not put a lift in even if we wanted to , however a member of staff is always on duty and will assist with luggage when required.
As far as the hot water/heating goes, for 2 days it was very erratic and we brought in our heating engineers who replaced the boilier. Things do break down from time to time, it is all part of life, we could not predict what was going to happen with the boiler, all we could do was react to the problem and fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic small hotel. Shame about the showers either being roasting hot or freezing cold! Otherwise, staff are accommodating. Decor was fresh and the rooms were spotless. Great location, close 2 tow . Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.