We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acorn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 88 hotels in Glasgow
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this hotel and agree with most of the comments made by previous guests. Yesterday morning at 8:30 a.m. there was no hot water in the shower. The concierge explained that there were a number of guests in the hotel owing to a conference and suggested we, "give it
20 minutes." Ninety minutes later the water was still cold or, perhaps more accurately, tepid. This morning we experienced exactly the same situation. There is something wrong with a hotel that is unable to supply hot water in the morning so that its guests can take a shower. We won't be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the Acorn Hotel.The hot water system in the hotel is in the process of being upgraded. We are committed to doing our best to respond to guest comments and make changes if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
77
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice little hotel, about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Glasgow. My room was clean and pleasant, and reception staff very friendly. Nice to have toiletries in the bathroom and hairdryer/straighteners. The only problem I had was the paper thin walls; there is no sound proofing at all and I could hear the people in the next room like there was no wall there. Fine if you bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are neat and nicely furnished with comfortable beds but the shower had very little water pressure rendering it totally inadequate. Breakfast was a let-down with the sausages and black pudding being very obviously cheap produce, if I stayed again I wouldn't pay the extra for breakfast.


Aside from those negatives the staff were very helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are sorry your stay at the Acorn was not as comfortable as you would have wished. With regard to the problem with the water pressure in the shower, we are undertaking a review of the hot water system at the moment which should address any problems like that. We take note of your comments regarding the sausages for breakfast and are currently trialling different makes etc with a view to changing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

stayed here for one night and found it to be a great little place. the room we stayed in was quite light and spacious, lovely interior and the bed was so comfy! very clean in here and the en suite aswell, which had a large walk in shower. thought it was a nice touch having hair straightners in the room.
nice walking distance from the centre. great!
the only negative was that the shower was lukewarm at best, the temperature didnt go up any higher, which made for a bit of a rubbish shower, but as i was only stayi one night i wasnt too bothered.

Room Tip: room 17 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Acorn Hotel, Glasgow in late August for one week. We found it to be very clean. Our room was small but clean. We missed having a microwave or small fridge. We did have a kettle to make hot drinks. They provided coffee, tea etc. The reception staff were amazing ( did reception and cooked the hot breakfast). Very close to pubs, drug store, Tesco, coffee shop and resturants. Public transit was close. Only comment is that it is not a hotel for people who require accessibility assistance. There are 4 floors and no elevator. We took taxis to George Square to meet our tour buses (just a bit far to walk from the hotel). Cabbies are very friendly and helpful. The front door to the hotel locked at all time which is a great security feature - you need your room key to re-enter. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Acorn is a lovely boutique hotel on Eldersile Road off Argyle Sauchiehall street. Centrally located and close to a lot of resturants. Its clean and small. The rooms are cute and the concierge was very helpful. I recommend. The price was right. I booked the hotel through booking.com.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wow according to many of the comments this is a great little hotel. It is not. The carpets were filthy, the lighting was terrible. The woman at the front counter was the only saving grace for this place. And no one mentioned the bar that is now open below the hotel. Yes it is loud. This not a central location. Spend the money and get a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, General Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
The guest stayed 2 nights and at no time was any complaint raised with the reception staff, neither did they fill in the comment card provided in the room. Having traced the reservation to the relevant room both Mr McQuade (Owner) and our Area Manager inspected the carpets, there were no problems with carpet in the room it was clean. With regard to the lighting, all the lighting in the hotel is as installed when we opened 4 years ago and this is the first complaint we have had.
Regarding the comment about being a central hotel, the hotel is situated 50metres from Sauchiehall Street one of the best known streets in Glasgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.