We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOCKING! Do NOT Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths Hotel to your Saves list
Smiths Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Dufftown, United Kingdom
1 review
“SHOCKING! Do NOT Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Rooms very much poor, need updating completely.
Breakfast..... Well (need I say anymore)
Location is okay as we were going to the hydro within walking distance
Price for room was okay.
Would not stay again........

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    57
    25
    78
See reviews for
25
56
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We didn't deliberately choose a budget hotel, this was the only hotel with a family room that
we could find in the whole of Glasgow City Centre. Our fault for leaving things to the
last minute and I admit that we are used to booking 4* minimum so we got what we deserved
with this.

I'll keep this review in order of events.

Car Park . Down a very muddy pot hole riddled alleyway. Bring wellies to walk from the
car park to the hotel !

Cold Room and not ' well appointed' as claimed on the website, in fact I'd say
hardly 'appointed' at all. That said, it was clean enough despite being very shabby.

Broken window lock, in fact no window lock at all. I had to jam it closed with my car keys
as it was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel.

No milk in room for coffees, breakfast only being served until 9.30am on a Sunday ! We knew
we wouldn't be making that time and it did say 10am on the website, but 9.30 it was for
some unknown reason.

We decided at this point ( even though we were late for our gig ) that we had to move
so spent 90 mins still in our coats trying to find a hotel with an alternative room
there was not a room to be had anywhere and I was trying everything from 2* to 5*.
We even contemplated just driving the 240 miles back home instead.

In the end we resolved to put up with it but had to rush out to our gig and didn't return until
really late so it was only on the Sunday morning about an hour before check out that we started
to get ready for Sunday's meeting with friends. NO SHOWER ! It didn't even try to come on and
we simply didn't have the will left in us to complain, we resigned ourselves to putting it down to
experience.

We cancelled our lunch appointment with our friends and drove home, stinking of the greasy
café that we had eaten in the night before.

One plus, the staff were nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay in family Room 3 if you are in the unfortunate position of ever having to stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great location for the SECC Hydro Arena walking distance. The hotel is friendly, clean and welcoming. The room was cold, bathroom nice and beds comfortable. The breakfast was ok.Would i stay again yes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

budget price but very clean rooms and bed,a few stairs to climb but for one or two nights great deal. lovely breakfast and nice staff,nice welcome from reception and very swiftly arranged our room and was offered help with our luggage to our rooms.
received good advice from reception for nearby eating and drinking places

Room Tip: stairs might be a problem for the not so able
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a last minute pre-xmas booking on Laterooms. I didnt have time to read previous negative reviews on this hotel before booking but like the previous couple of reviewers, I was pleasantly surprised. The room I had was spotless and warm. The staff were very friendly and there was monoblocked parking at the rear of the hotel, so parking was not an issue.
The breakfast in the morning was well cooked and more than adequate and if the standards were maintained, I would definitely use this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very pleasant staff, room had been pre heated on arrival! Which is very important to myself and my partner, it just shows consideration for customers, breakfast in morning was lovely, very well cooked. And staff again where friendly. Free parking which is again very important to us as we like to be sure of the car being safe!! Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Rooms adequate, breakfast good, staff helpful and polite , very convenient for town centre and great that there was parking on street... All you need if you just want somewhere to lay your head! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: No lift so check floor you'll be on if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umair C, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the effort and time you took to write a kind review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Smiths Hotel.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future and thank you very much for your feedback.

Regards

Smiths Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Address: 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiths Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smiths Hotel Glasgow, is a budget hotel located on Glasgow's bustling Sauchiehall Street. This B' Listed Building with striking Victorian facade and is nestled between the city's cosmopolitan centre and the stylish West End. The Smiths Hotel is also within close proximity to theatres, entertainment venues and the city's diverse selection of retail emporia lending to its position as one of Glasgow's budget hotels for city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.