We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ... great atmosphere ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oscars

Oscars
108 Ayr Rd, Newton Mearns, Glasgow G77 6EG, Scotland
0141 639 8496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food ... great atmosphere ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Oscars on Saturday night ... we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we walked in and throughout our visit. The food was great and the service was great ... what more do you want ... We'll definitely be back soon ...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked Oscar's through the five o'clock club for friends and myself to have lunch. Warmly welcomed by a very friendly and attentive waitress. We all had the 2 course set lunch. Food was very good quality and well presented.
Only let down was the dreadful background music.....Nice Italian music required to create the right ambience!!
Having said that, we would all go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value, great service - Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give Oscars a go. The food was overall good/very good. A vegetarian in our group thought her fish (sole) dish was excellent. I ate the chicken rosemarino which was very good. A little simple in concept but full of flavour. The service was, I have to say, excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for us and offered to make a custom pizza (off the menu) for my four year old daughter. Towards the end of our meal the manager/ owner appeared at our table with a packet of sweets and a lollypop for our daughter. I think he left the restaurant to buy them specially which was very good of him. My partner forgot her coat and the staff kept it safe until she collected it the following day. Oscars puts many up market establishments in Glasgow city centre to shame in terms of value, taste and most certainly service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent and within walking distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

From Pizzas to Veal Saltimboca, cooked just as you would like it. Friendly and welcoming without being over so. Its great to have such a nice Restaurant so close to home. If it were in the town it would be booked out every night. Well done.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“good food and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were visiting Glasgow and were taken to this restaurant by a local resident who frequently dines here. There were six of us and all of our food was very good and service was great too; plus, reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscars also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Oscars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.