We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a drink!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pot Still

The Pot Still
154 Hope Street, Glasgow G2 2TH, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 333 0980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Glasgow's famous Pot Still Pub hosts the finest collection of malt whisky in Scotland. 'THE POT STILL'. The very name evokes the warmth of mellow single malt Scotch whisky. From the seaweed strewn bays of Islay, the rugged mountains of the Highlands and the clear, cool rivers of the Lowlands, malts of all persuasions mean quality and contentment to whisky lovers the world over. For anyone who has travelled to Glasgow they also mean the home of Scotland's premier whisky pub, The Pot Still, named after the earliest whisky stills and situated in the bustling city centre at 154 Hope Street. Lovers of a good Scotch have come from all over the world to this wonderful little pub and returned time and time again. The attraction? The hundreds (literally) of malt whiskies on display on the impressive gantry. It is not unusual to see Americans, Germans, Swedes, Danes, Japanese and Irish jostling with Glaswegian regulars at the bar for service from the attentive and cheery staff.
Regina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely pints and whiskeys! Wonderful service, and a beautiful atmosphere. The food is very ordinary pub grub, but fills you up and is hot and quick if you need it,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    43
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff are really knowledgeable about the huge whisky selection they have. They do steak and mince pies. They are great pub grub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good traditional pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good old fashioned pub.
Only problem was it was far too crowded. I assume this means it is good , but it meant very slow service, although my pint was okay

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comforting... Atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Pot Still was the highlight of my trip to Glasgow. Recommended as a world renowned pub I was not disappointed, as no sooner had I walked through the door I was greeted by some of the most friendly bar staff I have come across. The pub is cosy but spacious with the sound of contagious laughter echoing around. Although my effort in consuming the weekly special was nothing short of an embarrassment my experience at the Pot Still was thoroughly enjoyable. If I return to Glasgow I will be sure to return. Hopefully I can give the whiskey a better go next time around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In search of good whiskey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Visited The Pot Still in march 2014, it was very busy but very welcoming, the landlord was very knowledgable about whiskey and served my husband a delightful tipple, sadly my gin was unavailable but had something else instead. We would recommend this pub for anyone interested in whiskey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot Still also viewed

 

Been to The Pot Still? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pot Still, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.