We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WEST Brewery, Bar & Restaurant

WEST Brewery, Bar & Restaurant
Templeton Building, Glasgow Green, Glasgow G40 1AW, Scotland
0141 550 0135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Eaten in many places and return to a few - this would be one, without question. Food for the price we thought was very good; also the service. Place has a great atmosphere. Went with kids on Friday night - good burgers and sweets excellent. Adults can choose from the excellent kids sweets menu. Beer brewed on site and so prices less per pint than city centre. Lovely wheat beer. Overall 8/10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    144
    25
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
motherwell
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The best beer in Glasgow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Well worth making the trip out of the town centre for! get the low level train form Glasgow central out to Bridgeton or hop on any bus going down London road and soon you will be transported to Glasgows German beer paradise! (...or "Ale-magne" - boom boom!) The area is not the greatest at the train station, and be warned, if you don't know the area, don't be wearing any Celtic/Rep of Ireland tops/St Patricks day hats/anything green for that matter... - its fiercely Rangers pub territory!
The dunkel is my personal fave, but not always on as a regular, those are St Mungo (its premium Lager very tasty!) its Hefeweisen (Absolute Dynamite!) and Munich red (a caramel tasting ale, very drinkable, beware...) They also stock a great range of premium craft beers from around the world and a not too bad wine selection. The food is only ok, I have found it a weee bit on the oily side, but good big portions it must be said.
The staff are all very friendly and courteous, they have a great beer garden for sunny days, are very much child friendly and dog friendly should you be bringing one, either or both!
Definitely the place to go if you like your beer, as these guys LOVE it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day out !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting West Brewery on Glasgow Green on Sunday the 7th of April . We had a party of six people and had decided to take in the brewery tour before our meal , we were met by our tour guide Simon and were taken down to the basement to start the tour . We found our tour very interesting informative and a lot of fun , our guide was pleasant witty and well informed on all aspects of the brewery, production history along with interesting points about the general art of producing quality Beers and Ales . Our tour finished with a tasting which we all enjoyed , we then went for our meal, our order was takin promptly and when the food came it was very good . Staff were pleasant and efficient , there is a real family atmosphere and lots of people had been out walking there dogs on the green and had called in for lunch , dogs and all . Well worth a look !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartcosh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and u can take your dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and food always tasty. We have taken our husky there for coffee, breakfast, lunch and dinner and each time we have never been disappointed! Staff friendly and very efficient. Great place and would highly recommend. Love this place and so does our dog

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cracking Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited WEST when looking for a wedding venue. We loved the venue immediately and the atmosphere was really great, kind of laid back. We've long admired the exterior of the building and the inside just feels right for this German style Brewery. The food and the beer are also great. Visit mid week and you'll get the authenticity of this as a brewery as the smell of hops fills the air!

Unfortunately we didn't get off to the best start due to some misfortunate complications with our assigned contact. However, we were later reassigned to two incredibly capable, attentive, enthusiastic, compassionate, organised ladies named Terri and Siobhan. Anyone out there who's ever planned a wedding will know how utterly stressful it can be. Let me tell you, it was wonderful to be able to work with these ladies who were just fabulous. They really helped us to realise what was an incredibly unconventional, off the wall wedding. I can't rate them highly enough! I would have no hesitation in recommending the venue, the food or the staff - all of whom are incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Not getting wed? Fair deal - stop on by for a pint and a bratwurst. What's more, it's one of the few places that's dog friendly and, in my experience, all of the dogs there are lovely and the owners seem to be responsible. Definitely place for the whole family to visit!

Kate

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WEST Brewery, Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to WEST Brewery, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WEST Brewery, Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.