We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glasgow Guest House
Save
You added Glasgow Guest House to your Saves list
56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed for one night whilst at a wedding at a nearby hotel. Our stay was brilliant, from the moment we arrived until we left. As someone who works in a customer service environment, both John and James were fantastic. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean, breakfast was great and kitchen facilities were available if we needed them too. Would thoroughly recommend this B and B and look forward to seeing them both in November on our return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
146
56
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A group of golfers booked the whole house for 3 nights. We were very well looked after, and made to feel at home. Location was excellent for us. Great breakfasts, freshly prepared. Golf gear was not a problem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the "apartment" attached to the main house; it was great! House was beautiful, in a lovely area. Breakfasts were wonderful, rooms were large and clean, John was a delight. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. The place is located close to a railway station with trains every half hour or so to the city. The room was very comfortable. The whole place was spotless and John takes great pride in making sure that guest comfort is paramount. Good cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Double room at front has a large bed but does have a disabled equipped bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Manly Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

You couldn't meet anyone as passionate about their guesthouse and Glasgow as John- an absolute delight- goes all out to please. His beautiful house is in a leafy suburb, one stop into town on the train but walking distance to Pollock Estate and Bellahouston Park. Breakfast delicious- loved the fruit platter. Not well sign posted due to council restrictions so we drove straight past initially. Plenty of parking in the street at the back of the house. Great outdoor area for a picnic dinner by twilight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a total of 4 nights here while on a 9 day visit to Scotland, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay! John is an absolute master of customer service. The facilities may be rated 3 star, but the service John and his "wingman", James provide is definitely 5 star. John met us upon our arrival and greeted us like family. After insisting on helping with our luggage, John gave us a fantastic list of recommendations of things to see and do in Glasgow and places close by to get a quick bite to eat, as well as how to catch the train which is only one stop to Glasgow's city center. The Guest house is located very conveniently on the edge of the city with quick and easy access to the major roadways for those who are driving themselves, and is surrounded by beautiful parks perfect for walks or jogging. Hopefully, we will be able to get back to Scotland soon, and if we do, there is no place we would rather stay than at the Glasgow Guest House.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We only stayed one night here - not nearly long enough! John met us in person, gave us a whole load of information on the city, where to go, what to see, and generally made us feel completely at home in this beautiful house. The room was huge, bathroom very good, breakfast delicious (and personally served) and the house is so lovely, we could have happily stayed much longer. Free parking right next door too. The local train station is just one stop from the station so it's super easy to get into the city centre (though trains only go every half hour or so). Loads to see right in the Dumbreck area as well - Pollock Park is stunning. It's extremely good value and we'll stay again just as soon as we can get back up to Glasgow for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor room at the front which was lovely. The traffic is rather noisy outside but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.